1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

opinions please

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by mcmullanbrush, Apr 28, 2002.

1. mcmullanbrush

mcmullanbrush
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i will be buying a games console next week and would like advice on which to get.
    i am not bothered about cd or dvd playback so gamecube would be okay
    i have some ps1 games so ps2 would be usefull
    i believe xbox has the best sound and graphics

i suppose it comes down to games, i am not really a gamer but i like to have the occasonal go, a good football game, a good driving game, a good shoot em up and a resident evil type game would do me.

can any of you experts give me some guidance

2. Rock Da Bass

Rock Da Bass

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +642
    I'm not an expert but I really like video games so I'll try to help.

1. PS2: This is a good safe bet and will have plenty of decent and not so decent games for a long while yet. It is also handy that it will play your PS1 games. However, it's all a bit lacklustre and graphically I think it will be outshone by the the Gamecube and XBox. The lack of 4 controller ports might also be a consideration. If you want to play it safe and be assured of a well supported machine get a PS2 though you might miss out on some very interesting times for Gamecube and XBox. Also, the £199 price tag now seems a bit steep.