1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Opinions on these cameras pls.........

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by LearningCurve, Oct 5, 2004.

1. LearningCurve

LearningCurve
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all,

I'm new to the digi-cam forums and would like some honest :lesson: opinions on 3 cameras I got my eye on - Canon G6, Nikon Coolpix 8700 & Olympus 8080.

I'm just an amatuer, learning the tricks when it comes to all these digi camera business but I'm looking for a camera that would last me (an investment if you like :D) for quite a good time and a camera where I could improve myself and also take luscious pics :laugh:.

2. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    They are all good cameras. i think the nikon (already looks a bit dated imo) and the oly are close to slr size and if i was going to go down that route then i'd advice you to get an slr. So for me it's the canon

3. LearningCurve

LearningCurve
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply...........

I had thought about SLR but I could not find any in my price range £500.....

What would you recommend for an SLR on that price range? :D (if there are any........)

4. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry i meant a digital slr, which would be the canon 300D, you'd need another 150. But it would be well worth it.

5. Garrett

Garrett

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,197
    Been there done that.
    Some months ago I was looking at the cameras you mention of them I seriously considered the Nikon because it gave 8* optical zoom. I ruled the others because the zoom was not as good although they gave 35mm to its 38mm.