1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Opinions on JVC HV-28P37S

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by kotya, Aug 26, 2004.

  1. kotya

    kotya
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking for a new TV and this one drew my attention. However, I couldn't find any user review on it, only a bunch of advertisement.

    Please, share your experience, pros and cons for this TV. :lease:

    Is there another TV that has component (Y-Pr-Pb) in (in the same price range, ~750 EUR)?

    Also, I couldn't figure out the difference between HV-28P37S and HV-28P37 (without "S" at the end).

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,472
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +185
    I've put a review of this model on AV-Review (links available from this site), and also, if you search the threads, you'll find I've mentioned the P37 a few times.

    All in all it is an excellent TV, especially if you mostly watch DVD or other digital sources (eg, Sky or a STB). Prog scan playback is superb, and, amazingly, the set is HDTV compatible, which could be of interest in a year or so's time when Sky goes HD. I paid £499 from Allders.com with a free five year guarantee, and am well chuffed.

    Note that the digital processing works less well with analogue or low bitrate sources, and much of it needs to be switched off. You will find an excellent and balanced review of the sets abilities in WhatVideoTV, the 32 inch model (32P37SJE). Note, however, that low quality sources do not look as bad as they say they do - just by comparisson to HQ sources, and to other TVs which do a better all-round job with their processing, but don't scale the same heights with DVD playback (e.g. Pixel Plus).

    DIST, which is a scanning method which reconstitutes the incoming picture at 75hz (after some clever prog scan trickery), cannot be turned off, but the digital processing suite (which consists of Auto VNR, SuperDigipure, ColourDigipure and Movie Mode) can be turned off and or tweaked. Therefore, to a large extent, it is possible to match picture quality to source. Certainly, I have few complaints, except to bemoan the quality of digital broadcasting (Freeview) as compared to DVD. Roll on HDTV.

    A number of people in these threads have also recommended the 28X4, which is a newer model, and is 100HZ. However, unless I'm wrong, it is not PAL Prog Scan capable (don't know about HDTV), and does not offer the DIST processing which the P37 does (which is a feature of all JVC plasma and LCD screens). However, I'm sure the X4 is also a killer TV - at least, the picture looks excellent in my local John Lewis. It may well have a better picture on LQ sources, as I think the digital processing has moved on a generation (from Super Digipure to Digipure Pro).

    Not aware that there is any difference between P37 and P37S - actual model no is P37SJE.

    Hope this helps
     
  3. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    Just a small correction to the above. The JVC 26" and 32" LCDs have DIST but the 17" and 23" do not.
     
  4. kotya

    kotya
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Barzo

    Thanks a lot, man! This was really helpful. Actually I got this TV a couple of days ago and after some tweaking got really good picture on it. The only strange thing is - I could get a decent picture ONLY via the TV component in and DVD component OUT. When I connect it via RGB-scart, the picture looks dimm.

    I was really amazed that this TV is not 100Hz. I didn't bother to check before the purchase as I was assuming such feature-packed TV must be 100Hz. :-(
     
  5. onewingedangel

    onewingedangel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +24
    It doesn't need to be 100hz, DIST is a diferent method to remove judder while also increasing resolution, turning a 578i 50hz pticture into a 1125i 75hz picture. In addition, 100hz alone doesn't to my eyes seem to produce much benefit, prog scan and high def on the other hand......
     
  6. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,472
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +185
    Are you using good quality leads? I only have my DVD player connected to the component in. My STB, Gamecube and DVD recorder are all connected RGB (with the Yamaha amp connected to the third Scart via s-video). Picture on all RGB sources is excellent, not dull. I'm using QED Squarts and a IXOS Scart cables.

    Hope you like the TV. I like it more every day. Can't say I miss 100Hz - motion seems smoother and more natural in DIST 75hz. Have not noticed any haloing or break up in fast motion, which seem to be common bugbears with 100Hz sets. In fact, DIST sets seem to be higher up the ranking in JVCs product range than the 100Hz sets, which suggests they view them as better too (for what that is worth!).
     
  7. kotya

    kotya
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I connected my DVD player via RGB-scart and YPrPb conponent at the same time. The funny thing is, if I watch DVD via component connection and try to play with the colour brightness I get wonderfull results.

    - There are three presets in the TV (I forgot the actual menu name) SOFT, STANDARD and BRIGHT. Via component connection STANDARD is brighter than BRIGHT :). This does not happen via RGB.

    The only comment I have on the cables - I do not believe in these a-la Moster cables and their superior influence on the playback quality. I had a long talk with a couple of my fiends who actually build these TVs (Phillips) and some other engineers and the short conclusion was - its useless. Unless you have a strong electro-magnetic field somewhere halfway through the cable. The INs and OUTs of the hardware (TV and DVD player) are NOT shielded and if anything, cable is not going to help you. There is not way a human can hear the difference between cheap 5 pounds cable and top-notch 100 pounds golden juelry. It is impossible (as I said with few exceptions).

    I might be wrong, but all the tests proved overprised cables useless.
     
  8. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,472
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +185
    This is a debate which seems to have legs, and will just run and run. I've read and heard many opinions on the subject, but, in the end, trust my own eyes and ears. Whatever the magic to it (or is it alchemy?), I do notice a difference in the quality of cables, visual and audio. My QED Squart, for example, produces a more brilliant image (richer and brighter) than any 'free' cable I've ever seen. Likewise, good speaker cable and digital and analogue interconnects have all made a difference (especially with my hi-fi system) - trust me, given the price of some of these cables, if I did not see or hear a difference, I would not be shy about returning them for a full refund. I'm not sure, but I don't think it is simply to do with shielding/interference rejection, but the quality of transmission of the signal. Anyway, that is something for the cabling forum, and well above my ken! :)

    I think this is one of those topics which splits opinions, so, as I said, I trust my own eyes and ears (however easily fooled they might be! :) ). I'd urge you to try a cable or two and see if you see/hear the difference - some specialist AV stores should be willing to lend for home trial with a credit card swipe, or offer a full refund if not satisified.
     
  9. jang150

    jang150
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi i am also on the lookout for a new telly after my trusty old goodmans finally gave up. i am just wondering if anyone could shed any light on the difference between the different model numbers. is the hv28p37 the same as the hv28p37sje??

    thanks in advance
     
  10. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,264
    Yes, they are the same set. There is only one version of the 28P37 available in the UK, it's just that some retailers quote only the main part of the model number and other quote the whole thing. The "S" at the end means silver and the rest just means it's the UK version.
     
  11. kotya

    kotya
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did. No difference. :) I totally agree that there is no point to start this discussion all over again. You might have a very long distance between your TV and Hi-Fi set, as for me it is only one meter. It is hard to believe in the "quality of transmission" as these cables are no different from the cheap ones, they just better shielded.
     
  12. kotya

    kotya
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    BTW

    I watch my DVDs via component connection. I switched on progressive on my DVD player. However, when I go into the service menu, it says that the mode is 900i. Shouldn't it be 5xxP or this has nothing to do with the actuall TV mode? How I can determine the mode (525i/525p/1080i etc)?

    Oh, one more question. What is ACI? When I was configuring my old analog TV channels, this set all of a sudden asked me "ACI. Ok/Cancel". I said Ok and it set up all the channels automatically without searching. I kind of curious what ACI is. Probably some sort of Automatic Channel Information or whatever.
     
  13. markswift

    markswift
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I too have got a JVC 32p37! Took the plunge a week ago, only £620 inc delivery from hiwayhifi.com, bargain!

    I really need some help though?

    1)When I have movie mode, or whatever its called ;) switched on, especially on my freeview box (which is rgb output), I get lines around any motion, i.e. running, when I switch it off, it goes away. I presume this is the TV getting mixed up with my freeview box, but it also happens with the xbox. Seems fine with it off.

    2)I have a slighly darker patch on the screen when its displaying pure white, this does not bother me, just curious?

    3)My geom seems quite bad when viewing 4:3 in regular mode, but this is normal on a 32" crt right? its fine in 4:3 zoom.

    finally 4)What the best way to connect my 5:1 amp, it has optical inputs (2) and 5:1 phonos as well as 2 phonos for TV and Game. I really just wanna connect it to the TV's 2 phono outs, but I will not get surround off them, right?

    I really hope someone can help me out here. As nobody ever seems to reply!

    Thanks

    Mark
     
  14. markswift

    markswift
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    see, nobody??

    Help!!!
     
  15. waysted_uk

    waysted_uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +28
    Hi Mark,

    I'll be getting one on Tuesday so I will let you know how I get on in regards to your first 3 points.

    You will be able to connect your TV to the AMP via the left/right phono outputs from the TV. If the TV signal is stereo then your Amp should be able to provide 'surround sound' using the Dolby Pro Logic mode. This is not as good as Dolby Digital (5.1) or DTS but it is still good.

    regards

    Mark
     
  16. waysted_uk

    waysted_uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +28
    In response to Marks questions (sorry about the delay!)

    1)Line Around motion

    When I first connected up the scarts I did have a problem when viewing DVD's via the DVD recorder in RGB mode. I was getting coloured bands across the screen. If I changed to Composite the bands disappeared. I then switched the DVD recorder from AV2 to AV1 and the problem disappeared. I now have the Video (composite only) on AV2

    2)I have a slighly darker patch on the screen when its displaying pure white, this does not bother me, just curious?

    No dark patch on my screen

    3)My geom seems quite bad when viewing 4:3 in regular mode, but this is normal on a 32" crt right? its fine in 4:3 zoom.

    The Geometry on my set is fine. I did adjust the horizontal position as it was way to far left. There does seem an issure in 4:3 regular and 14:9 where it cuts off the far left of the screen.

    Still can't make up my mind about this set.

    The picture quality from DVD using Component Inputs is excellent. The colours seem a little muted compared with RGB but it is more 'natural'.

    The quality from the Telewest Digital box is OK. The picture is very 'soft' when digipure is turned off. Turning on digipure does increase the digital artifacts which is more noticible on rapid motion.

    I do have an intermittant problem when the TV is turned on. Sometimes the picture is the wrong colour or has ghosting. Switching it off and on cures the problem but I'm unsure about the ongoing reliability of this set.

    Cheers
     
  17. Shensuke

    Shensuke
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone tell me if they've tried this TV set with the current generation of games-consoles.

    I did a ton of research on TV sets available on the UK market at the moment. After going through loads, my buying choice came down to the JVC you're all discussing here, and the new Toshiba 32ZP48.

    I'm particularly interested in the resulting picture when you hook up, say, the XBOX (mine's American) via a component cable to enable a progressive scan picture (480p mode)

    Both of these TVs are compatible with this mode, but, & here's the £1000 question, what's it like on the JVC???

    It's really confusing because from what I gather, the JVC doesn't emit a progressive scan picture. The end product from a progressive source is (after it does all it's graphical trickery via DIST) a higher resolution INTERLACED picture.

    So, before I splash out £700 - £1K, I'd be very grateful if anyone can tell me how the JVC rates with modern videogames (via component in progressive scan mode; I'm not interested in RGB).
     
  18. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    I'm also interested in this set and the next model up with the integrated tuner if anyone has any experience. Currently have an old Panasonic TX-28PK1 which has serious geometry issues if there's any bright whites on the screen and it bulges out :(
     
  19. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +261
    Hi i have had the jvc-32p37sje tv since it was released and will list the things i think are good and bad. :hiya:

    good.
    1.geometry on my set is very good horizontal and vertical line are straight.
    2.component dvd pal/ntsc is excellent depending on quality of dvd.
    3.chipped xbox useing component is amazeing will never go back to scart.
    4.s-video quality is good useing my panasonic dvdplayer.
    5.sound is not bad even though i dont use the onboard speakers.
    6. auto widescreen switching works can be set to zoom a 4.3 picture or leave as normal.
    bad.
    1.rgb scarts dont work correctley get wavy lines so use s-video instead problem goes away.
    2.d.i.s.t can show how rubbish the quality of freeview and sky are so keep it set to min or off.
    3.slight purity problem on the left side of my set but not always apparent.
    4.remote a bit slow when changeing av channels so i use my hifi remote instead much quicker.
    5.on my set when watching freeview with movie theatre mode turned on i get some artifecting at the very bottom of the screen so leave it turned off.
    6.not enough component inputs have to use a switch box.
    7.component input has to be selected manualy.
     
  20. Barzo

    Barzo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,472
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +185
    I own the 28P37, and have done so for over a month now.

    I agree all the good points above, but have some comments on the bad:

    1.rgb scarts dont work correctley get wavy lines so use s-video instead problem goes away.

    I've read this a number of times, always in relation to the 32 model. This is not a problem I have encountered at all (perhaps I'm just very lucky). RGB picture is excellent - no wavy lines anywhere in the picture. I have my Xbox connected RBG to AV1 and my DVD recorder and Freeview box to AV2 (RGB). Plus, I was looking for the problem on the basis of what had been said on the forums, and also because the TV I was replacing, a Panny 28", had precisely this problem (as well as some voltage relating kinking with white lines especially). So, in my experience, RGB connection is excellent.

    2.d.i.s.t can show how rubbish the quality of freeview and sky are so keep it set to min or off.

    Agree entirely. Picture is softer, yes, but one soon get's used to it. Plus, it is still very good.

    3.slight purity problem on the left side of my set but not always apparent.

    Ditto - and it is slight.

    4.remote a bit slow when changeing av channels so i use my hifi remote instead much quicker.

    I use a Marantz learning remote. This is clearly something to do with DIST - the manual does say that channel changing might take up to 5 secs (never had to wait that long) as the picture stablises itself (in the 'Troubleshooting' section of the manual).

    5.on my set when watching freeview with movie theatre mode turned on i get some artifecting at the very bottom of the screen so leave it turned off.

    No problems with Movie mode to report, on Freeview or anything else. Always leave it turned on.

    7.component input has to be selected manualy.[/QUOTE]

    Yes, this is a pain, but I think fairly consistent with other TVs?

    Overall, I think the 28P37 is something of a bargain, especially if one is looking for a good TV and can't accomodate a 32 incher. I'm very happy with it, especially as DVD images really do look amazing.
     
  21. Shensuke

    Shensuke
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys. You've been very helpful.

    I'm going to get the JVC now instead of the Toshiba ZP48; The Toshiba doesn't have the JVC's resolution boosting technology or High-Definition compatiblity, so as far as I can tell, in it's price bracket, the JVC is the best investment to make with regards to future high-def TV broadcasts (& future games consoles' high-def software).

    I'm planning on buying the successor, the JVC HV-32D40. I presume it's more or less the same as the model we're discussing here in terms of picture quality, modes, & compatibility, but it does also include an integrated digital freeview tuner.


    Thanks again guys.
     
  22. Bonex

    Bonex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, I'm new here.
    Thanks for your comments, I'm interested in this tv set too.

    Does this tv perform well with ntsc dvd's with 3:2 pulldown (from film but interlaced)?

    I understand that probably it depends a lot on the quality of the deinterlacer on my player (which is a Panny S75, BTW), but I'd like to know a definitive opinion about ntsc discs from someone who has the tv.
    In fact, many of my dvd's are R1 anime dvd's that 99% of the time are interlaced. I'm tired of seeing jaggies and aliasing during camera pannings on my 50Hz, so I'm looking for a good prog-scan tv. I read very positive reviews about this tv so I'm very curious, but they say it has a 75Hz interlaced display... :confused:
     
  23. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +261
    hi the tv performs just as great with ntsc dvd as it does with pal if not better as you say i think it depend on the dvdplayer aswell im useing the jvc xv-na77sl dvdplayer by the way and its top and another thing my xbox is running in ntsc progressive scan and have had no trouble with ntsc. :hiya:
     
  24. Ozzy

    Ozzy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2000
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry to appear a bit thick, but what do you mean by this exactly?

    Stefan
     
  25. peahead

    peahead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    St.helens
    Ratings:
    +261
    i just ment you have to press the av button on the remote until ext4 appears to get the picture because unlike scartleads component doesnt switch to the correct av channel you have to do it manualy by the remote.


    example,
    scart1 ext1 auto switch
    scart2 ext2 auto switch
    scart3 ext3 auto switch
    component ext4 manualy switch by remote
    s-video ext5 manualy switch by remote
     

Share This Page

Loading...