Operating Toshiba TV using Panasonic SC-PT850 Remote

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Andrew9999, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. Andrew9999

    Andrew9999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have a Panasonic SC-PT850EB home cinema and Toshiba 40XF355D TV.

    I would like to be able to turn the TV on and off using the home cinema remote control but there is no mention of this in the manual despite a dedicated button on the remote.

    Advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

    Andrew.
     
  2. Andrew9999

    Andrew9999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
  3. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192

    Thats for a Panasonic TV only
     
  4. Andrew9999

    Andrew9999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    OK, thanks. It's surprising that this is the case as previous Panasonic kit I have can operate many models of TV. I have a Panasonic DVD recorder (about 1 year old) and I can use its remote to operate a Sharp TV.

    I suppose it's been changed in order to encourage you to buy a Panasonic TV!

    Andrew.
     
  5. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    Its the same with your Toshiba TV, the remote has buttons for a dvd player?
    As long as it a tos
     
  6. AlphaPapa123

    AlphaPapa123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +71
    Andrew, can you please let me know if your 850 plays divx discs? I'm thinking of buying one but not sure if it plays divx or not - sorry for jumping on your thread!

    Thanks
     
  7. kentish_lad

    kentish_lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +192
    The 850 doesnt
     
  8. AlphaPapa123

    AlphaPapa123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,303
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +71
    Thanks for confirming mate
     
  9. Andrew9999

    Andrew9999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2

    Yes, quite right. I think this is a recent trend to encourage users to buy equipment from the same manufacturer.

    Perhaps I need a new remote ... Harmony?
     
  10. Andrew9999

    Andrew9999
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2

    As stated above, no divx on the UK version. I don't know why. I understand that some overseas versions support divx.

    Doesn't bother me as I don't use this format.
     

Share This Page

Loading...