Operating System help

Smallclone

Hello (novice here),

I have only ever used windows. But I am looking into replacing a media streamer with a mini pc. This mini pc does not come with an operating system though.

I would need to install one and then use it to play videos of all types (.avi .mkv .m4u .xvid etc) and also use it for streaming spotify and a web browser.

Can I do this via something like Ubuntu, which I understand is free? Or shoudl I just pay an extra £50 and get Windows 8 installed on the mini pc?

Many Thanks

next010

Distinguished Member
Do you mean Arm devices advertised as mini PC's (like Android dongles) or just regular x86 based PC's ?

For x86 you can just install Ubuntu or Linux Mint which is easier as it leans more towards Windows and install XBMC which is pretty easily done from the built in software manager (sort of like an app store) or via a command prompt.

For Arm devices it's more complicated, typically they only run Android but you can get by with a usb wireless mouse on it, XBMC is still beta software on these and new hardware is always just around the corner.

excollier

Get a Raspberry Pi, and put xbmc on an sd card, it will stream video and music, much cheaper, and can be used for web browsing etc. too by running a Debian based linux OS.
http://www.raspberrypi.org/

Smallclone

Hmmm. Does raspberry pi play all video files types? Do they seemelssly stream 1080p files from nas drive over wifi?

Will it cope with 5.1 sound and DTS?

next010

Distinguished Member
The R-Pi is an Arm device with a very weak CPU, it might not be a great choice for web browsing. Hardware video decoding is provided for H.264 and MPEG4 video & it will do 5.1 audio, licenses must be purchased for MPEG2, VC-1 (WMV) decoding from the R-Pi foundation. The easy to setup XBMC distros for R-Pi make it an appliance style box not a computer OS so a lot of work would be involved.