openHAB or Domoticz?

themadhouse

Novice Member
Posting this question, I understand there are going to be people who are definitely in one camp or the other, what I'm looking for is an objective view on why I should use one over the other.

I'm retro-fitting a HA system and have pretty much decided on Z-Wave units as the best fit for my situation (part retrofit, part new build).

Having looked around at many of the HA software offerings - both paid-for and open source - the options seem to come down to openHAB or Domoticz.

I've no problem with scripting (I'm a systems developer by profession), so happy getting into the scripting on either.

What are the thoughts on which and why?

Google doesn’t help much – plenty of reviews but many are from 2015-17 and both applications have moved on massively in the last three years.

Jim

tucks

Standard Member
I have held off responding given I cannot directly compare the two projects however given others are yet to add their thoughts I hope my input is of some use.

I have been using Z-Wave for over six years, most of those with Domoticz but in September last year I tested a "Home Assistant" docker container. I quickly migrated my entire home automation system from Domoticz to Home Assistant and have not looked back, in fact I rather wish I had migrated much earlier.