1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OOOh yes pioneer 2011

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by durk, Jul 2, 2003.

Tags:
  1. durk

    durk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im only 5.1 so should i by amp my front speakers?

    n i guess i should run set up again right? if i do bi amp that is!!!
     
  2. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    yes and yes

    :smashin:
     
  3. durk

    durk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In stereo my sub does nowt! works ok in other modes is that how tha amps set to work?

    should i take a high level gain aswell as the normal low level jobie!

    done tha auto setup subs ok there to!

    pioneer 2011
    marantz dv7010
    quad 11l fronts
    wharfedale evo center n surround!
    :confused:
     
  4. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    In stereo all the settings such as tone, loudness etc are active so if the sub is set to on then it should work.

    In direct stereo all the extra stuff is switched off including the sub to give the best hifi 2 channel sound.

    Try setting fronts to small or sub to plus (this routes all bass from fronts to sub)

    HTH

    Gus
     
  5. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Nope. I thought that too, but the sub signal is still supplied in direct mode.
     
  6. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just checked and I have no sub output in direct mode
     
  7. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Just checked, I do. Turn the crossover up to 100Hz or something just to make it obvious.

    Trust me on this one.
     
  8. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Nope absolutely squat.

    Turned Xover to 100 and also cranked up the sub

    Weird?

    What are your fronts set to small or large?
     
  9. Daneel

    Daneel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,813
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Fronts are set to small. If I set them to large there will be no output from the sub in stereo or direct mode (for 2 channel sources), unless the sub is set to plus.
     
  10. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    That's it then, I'm set to large.

    The manual says there may be sub output in stereo modes depending on setup.
     
  11. durk

    durk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    MMMM soooooo! if my fronts are set to large there's no output to the sub in stereo mode yes?

    so i need a high level input to achieve the desired effect!
     
  12. durk

    durk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats going to cock up the auto setup aint it!
     
  13. Godfather

    Godfather
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,223
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +224
    With those speakers, you'll get better results by setting your fronts to small. I know auto setup set them to large, but you can easily change manually.
     
  14. durk

    durk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx guys been most helpfull:smashin:
     
  15. RAL 12

    RAL 12
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you set sub to "plus" setting you'll get bass output from the LFE out with speakers set to large - fronts will get full range signal and bass will be duplicated so that sub gets bass as well as fronts. (can't actually set sub to "plus" with fronts set small.)

    I have both high & low level connections so don't need to use the "plus" setting to get the sub involved when front speakers are set to large but if you only have one connection, a low level connection, this "plus" setting will give sub involvement but retain the large setting for front speakers, if that's what you are after.

    Note this "plus" workaround works in stereo but not in direct.

    Hope this helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...