only got mono sound

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by malcmall, Oct 7, 2004.

  1. malcmall

    malcmall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    :hiya: Just had a 42 inch lg rz 42px11 plasma tv and a hitachi dvd video player
    also got an NTL box (changing to sky plus) at the end of the month

    i have a scart from me dvd to the tv and another from me dvd to me ntl box. Also got the aerial lead from the ntl to tv for me terrestial channels. Everything is fine except i can only get mono sound through me ntl box. got nicam stereo thru terrestial and brilliant sound when the dvd or video player is being played. Any one got any ideas?
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,904
    Are you watching NTL

    a) via the AV input on the TV or
    b) via the RF cable - i.e. via a "tuned" channel?

    If the latter then such a signal will indeed be mono only.
     
  3. malcmall

    malcmall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for that! how do i get it stereo? as it seems it is via the rf cable!
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    by scart is only way do you have ntl digital or analogue....
     
  5. malcmall

    malcmall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    NTL digital!
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    have you got a scart from TV scart on ntl box to TV? do you have RF feed from ntl box to anything??? If you do disconnect it....
     
  7. malcmall

    malcmall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for that horny dragon. I have a scart from ntl box to the tv (AV1) and scart from ntl to me dvd is this what you would recommend? Both scarts are gold plated.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    IS DVD a recoder or just a player? HAve you hecked silly things like software options on ntl box for sound outputs? does you box have L + R audio outs?
     
  9. malcmall

    malcmall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    The machine is a dvd player and a vhs recorder with progressive scan the sound is good now I have took out the rf lead but the faces close up are crap!
     
  10. malcmall

    malcmall
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    but this is only sometimes....as you can guess I am learning normally you but a tv connect it and watch!
     
  11. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    If the pictures aren't very good you may be looking at a composite signal which is the worst quality. Make sure that the NTL box and DVD Recorder are both outputting an RGB signal which is considerably better
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    I think part of the problem is they way you are connecting the combi try cable direct to scart input and VCR scart into VCR on Cable box and DVD output to component input on LG...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice