Only getting channels from multiplex 1 and 2

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by Jimbob123, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. Jimbob123

    Jimbob123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I live in the North of Scotland, Moray area. At the moment, I'm only getting 20 channels from multiplex 1 and 2.

    I'm using an indoor amplified arial with the telescopic extenders down, but I've tried tunning with them fully up and still no joy! Is it possible that only two multiplexs are being broadcast as digital in my area? My nearest mast is about 12 miles away.
     
  2. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    Indoor aerials are a constant source of complaints:eek
    Just do a search on here
    Put your postcode in here and see what's recommended for your location

    http://www.wolfbane.com/cgi-bin/tvd.exe?

    and have a look at this

    http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/freeview_problems.htm#indoor

    EDIT>>>>>

    Just a guess - but on an IV30 postcode an Amplified extra hi-gain aerial is recommended - and that's outdoors at a height of 10M

    http://www.wolfbane.com/cgi-bin/tvd.exe?DX=L&HT=10&OS=iv30

    It seems all multiplexes are transmitted and, I would think, that a wideband aerial is required
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,260
    There is no substitute for the right aerial installation for your location, and indoor aerials are suitable only for the fortunate few.
     
  4. gulliver dark

    gulliver dark
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Eastbourne
    Ratings:
    +10
    Lofts are for Christmas decorations and train sets! :)
     
  5. Jimbob123

    Jimbob123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL, it's not even in the loft, it's next to my TV.

    I had a look online, and it seems there are three transmitters that transmit digital. The one that's 12 or so miles away only transmits multiplex 1 and 2 in digital ATM. Theres a transmitter accros the firth about 50m as the crow flys, but I would probably need a decent outdoors one for that. Cheers for the links!
     

Share This Page

Loading...