Online help needed

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by robo-son, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. robo-son

    robo-son
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    my ds will find acces point, but then when it tests connection it says it has an error, any help coz i really want to get back online
     
  2. cas398

    cas398
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +184
    First of all, is your router set to WEP encyption? The DS won't connect to WPA or higher.

    In the Wi-Fi settings menu on the DS the connections with the Red padlock you can connect to. If it has a Grey Padlock the settings aren't supported by the DS.

    Log into the router, change the settings to WEP, and go from there.

    Hope that help, let us know how you get on.
     
  3. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    i also need some help please.
    i got my ds yesterday i also have a ps3 and 360 connected to my sky router by hard wire,they both work ok so i tried to set up my ds for wireless:eek:
    i'm not sure if i set the router up right? i *filled in* the wep bit b ut not sure about the password bit?.
    anyhoo:)if you could give me an idiots guide to setting it up i would be very gratefull(i'm 62 by the way)so have pity.
    how do i test the wireless connection when i have finished?,can i download anything?
    i have one game(chrono trigger) that has the wireless symbol on it.
    any help would be appreciated,sorry for the long winded post.
    den:lease:
    i also dont seem to be able to find the wi-fi set up screen on the ds?
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2009
  4. cas398

    cas398
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +184
    First of all you need a game that's Wi-Fi compatible and that will allowyou to alter your network setting.

    I just checked Chrono Trigger and I didn't see this option.

    Games like Animal Crossing and Mario Kart have this option.

    Once you enter the network setting screens on the DS it will allow to input the details of your network. For example, search for the access point, enter the WEP key, automatically detect the IP addresses etc.

    I don't know about the Sky router because I've only ever done this with my netgear Virgin router. When I changed the setting to WEP it prompted me for a password. I made one up, clicked ok and it generated WEP keys for me. Once you select one to use enter it into the DS and that should be you.

    If that doesn't work you can always allow the router to accpet the DS's MAC address. That can be found in the Wi-Fi settings menu too. Enetering that into the router allows that specific device access to the network. I don't think you need both WEP encryption and MAC filtering, but if the WEP doesn't work first and it's been done correctly it only takes a minute to stick the MAC address into the router.

    This might help a bit:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwg45JnRM0c&feature=related

    He's turned off the security hence the open padlock (I wouldn't do that), but you'd be able to connect to the red padlock shown by entering your WEP key.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2009
  5. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    thanks for your time mate.
    on the back of the chrono trigger box it has a symbol and says wireless ds multiplay card?,is this not what you mean? by wi fi compatable?.
    if not ,no worries i'll get mario or some othewr game and try it again.
     
  6. cas398

    cas398
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +184
    Multiplayer could mean local, as in DS to DS. I'm not completely sure about Chrono Trigger as I don't have the case or instructions but it doesn't appear to have Wi-Fi and in the menu I don't see any option. That vid I posted shows the option that is on Wi-Fi enabled games.

    If you look at Mario Kart for example it has the blue Wi-Fi icon on the case:
    Play.com (UK) : Mario Kart DS : Nintendo DS - Free Delivery

    I googled for a list of Wi-Fi enabled games and found this:
    List of Nintendo DS Wi-Fi Connection games - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
     
  7. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    your'e right,it's a ds to ds game!.
    thanks a lot,will get a propper game.
     
  8. robo-son

    robo-son
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Know about the padlocks and that, when i treid it earlier it sayed something about the ip adress, dont know what it means though:mad:
     
  9. cas398

    cas398
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +184
    Try this.

    Don't go to 'Search for an access point'.

    Go to 'Manual setup'.

    Enter the SSID - name of your network (as it would be displayed on the access point list).

    Enter the WEP key.

    Enable Auto-obtain IP address.

    Enable Auto-obtain DNS.

    That should do it I think.

    Failing that try entering the MAC address of the DS into your router.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2009
  10. robo-son

    robo-son
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, it worked, do u go on mario kart, or metroid, name others and online code please:):thumbsup:
     
  11. cas398

    cas398
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +184
    Nice one. I don't really use it that much because it's my girlfriends, but I've posted my Mario Kart code in that other thread.

    I'll have to try out some other Wi-Fi games.
     
  12. robo-son

    robo-son
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    KK, if you ever go on then add me, i'm 214933-408794:thumbsup:
     
  13. cas398

    cas398
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +184
    Cheers. I'll add that to my Mario Kart tonight, if that's how it's done.
     
  14. robo-son

    robo-son
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, whats your code, and my user name is robo-son;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...