Question Onkyo TX-NR646 2.1 subwoofer setup help

Leadfoot77

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi, sorry I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff. I just added a sub-woofer to my 2.1 setup with the nr646 AVR. I ran it through the auto-config (accuEq?) setup and heard the sub-woofer making noise. However, after that when I switch to cable TV (RCN) or stream music through my chromecast, the sub-woofer makes no noise. I suspect it's a configuration issue because I did find one thing that works: set the speakers to Full Band and turn on "Double bass" - but I believe this means I'm essentially "whacking the configuration over the head" and forcing the AVR to send certain frequencies to the sub.

Can anybody give me some guidance on how to properly configure this? Does it have anything to do with the input source (cable box/chromecast)?

I greatly appreciate any input!

You need to set crossovers for the front speakers. THe receiver will then filter the audio and redirect frequencies at and below the crossover setting away from the front speakers and out to the sub. If you don't do this and treat the front speakers as being full band then the sub would only ever be active while handling multichannel soures that include a dedicated LOw Frequency Effects channel (LFE).

snapshot001.jpg

TX-NR646

Last edited:
You need to set crossovers for the front speakers. THe receiver will then filter the audio and redirect frequencies at and below the crossover setting away from the front speakers and out to the sub. If you don't do this and treat the front speakers as being full band then the sub would only ever be active while handling multichannel soures that include a dedicated LOw Frequency Effects channel (LFE).

View attachment 909662

TX-NR646