Onkyo SR-705 vs SR-607 advice needed

Gamblet

Standard Member
Hello all,

I wanna buy a receiver with 5.1 speakers for a homecinemaset. I'm a audio rookie but have read a bit the last weeks. Now for the speakers i'm still looking (thinking of the Energy Take Classic 5.1 Speaker) thats good enough for now in the future i might wanna get some bigger front speakers with center speaker.

For the receiver i decided to buy the SR-607 but since yesterday i saw a that i could buy the SR-705 for the same ammount of money. So now i have doubts about what to buy. Heard that the SR-705 has better technologie although its a older model.

Wanna buy the system this week so your advice about what a better choice will be is more then welcome.:clap:

Cheers Gamblet.

bobbymax

Welcome to the forum Gamblet. :hiya:

You will find the 607 is approx £150 dearer than the 507, and they are both the new models from Onkyo.
Haven't got either myself, although my son's got the 507 and he's happy as a larry.
If you only want 5.1 then go for the 507 and spend the rest on speakers.
Peter Tyson have it for £299:

Onkyo TXSR507

Gamblet

Standard Member
Welcome to the forum Gamblet. :hiya:

You will find the 607 is approx £150 dearer than the 507, and they are both the new models from Onkyo.
Haven't got either myself, although my son's got the 507 and he's happy as a larry.
If you only want 5.1 then go for the 507 and spend the rest on speakers.
Peter Tyson have it for £299:

Onkyo TXSR507

Thanks bobby:smashin: But i was talking about the difference to the SR705 and SR607. Both are the same price. Only wanna know what is a better choice.

bobbymax

:oops: Sorry, I muts be goign dyslexic. :D

Would guess the 705 would be better, although a few guys here think the old models are ugly.

bobbymax

From what I've read and after setting up my son's 507, I don't think you'll go far wrong with any of the onkyo's. Thinking of getting the 607 myself.

rafaelmgs

Standard Member