1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Onkyo or Denon

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by -, Feb 22, 2001.

Tags:
  1. Guest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    does the thx stamp on the onkyo mean anything to you? i believe it is only the "select" variant which i again believe comes down to a lesser spec on the transformer/peak output capabilities. Personally i have no experience of the Onkyo but have read many pleased owners reviews of the unit, i do however own the 3801 which is piped out to 2 Rotel 985 thx power amps as
    a: My speaker arrangement is a quite a difficult load, and
    b: In all honesty i don't think the denon alone would cope even though it is rated at 105 watts into 7 channels (but we all know that when all speakers are loaded the output of amps UNLESS THX ULTRA CERTIFIED will drop dramatically) i have also read several owners reports claiming concern for the denon running out of steam at very high levels, i obviously cannot comment on this but i think that realistically this could also be levelled at the onkyo

on the very positive side i have found the decoding of the EX/ES and Discreet formats to be a real revelation and decoding in general can be considered as absolutley first rate for the money (although RRP is £800 i got it for £610 delivered from Superfi a U.K model too not a grey. I was using a yamaha 795a with the rotel's and there is a real improvement. Can't comment on musical or tuner abilities as i use a dedicated hifi set-up.
    But all in all thrilled with it and if you are using it as a stand alone amp i think as long as you use relatively efficient speakers 88db/w/m or above i guess with a high ish inpedance then i think you be very pleased with it, i am

Regards

SteveEX

2. ReTrO

ReTrO

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +59