Onkyo not processing dts?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Duckers, Jan 19, 2008.

Tags:
  1. Duckers

Duckers
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm still somewhat new to the audio visual scene. I started watching Alien tonight, hoping for a good scare with the new surround sounds set up. I'm using a PS3 to play the DVD, via HDMI connected to my Onkyo 605.

What I don't understand is why the DTS track on Alien is not playing correctly. All I'm hearing is the same sound played from the rear, and rear left and rights, while the majority of the sound stage is coming from the front speakers. I'm not hearing any surround at all.

This is probably because I just don't have the correct settings. I set the PS3 to output in bitstream, because this sends the audio to the receiver to decode, right? Then on the receiver I hit the 'Surround' button so that the DTS Neo:6 Cinema sound option is selected. Am I right in thinking I want the PS3 set to bitstream for normal dolby and dts sound, and LPCM for high definition? I'm just a bit confused about LPCM/Bitstream, need to do a bit of reading on it.

I know this has probably been asked all the time but couldn't find anything in the search about the Onkyo 605 and DTS tracks.

2. MarkTaylor

MarkTaylor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +662
    Neo6 is a pseudo surround mode and if your amp was getting the DTS stream it would automatically switch to DTS mode.

On the PS3 have you told it that it can send DTS out?

I seem to recall there is a menu where you indicate the formats that it is allowed to output.

3. davepuma

davepuma
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,506