Onkyo 875 or PS3 to upscale DVD

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jpfreestyler, May 30, 2008.

Tags:
  1. jpfreestyler

    jpfreestyler
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi , What is best to upscale a dvd to 1080P my onkyo 875 or do I let the PS3 do it ?
     
  2. sdb123

    sdb123
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    18,179
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants
    Ratings:
    +2,252
    There is no definitive 'best'. ;)

    Why not change the settings on each one yourself and test to see which one you prefer. :)
     
  3. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,752
    Hi jpfreestyler :) and welcome to the forum. :smashin:
    As sdb123 says :smashin: you've got to test each one to see what looks best to you.
    The PS3 will upscale (if you want) to the max res of your screen,so send that and see what's it like,or turn the scaling off (PS3 menu) DVD will be @ 576p and then see what your 875 does with it. :thumbsup: You could try your TV's scaling as well.
    All the best.
     
  4. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,084
    As the PS3 won't do native SD output, I settled on the PS3 outputting 1080i and my 875 just sending this through to my displays.. not much in it TBH and I don't normally use the PS3 for SD, but I found this was the best for me.. :smashin:

    Eitherway the PS3 will always upscale / de-interlace SD-DVD somehow, so might as well let it do it all.. :D

    But do your own testing, tis the best way.. :thumbsup:
     
  5. Sniper

    Sniper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    Would I be right in saying that this way there's no benefit in having an 875 over an 805 !?!?
     
  6. sdb123

    sdb123
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    18,179
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rushden, Northants
    Ratings:
    +2,252
    I would base my decision on what sources would you be putting through the amp (i.e. SD, HD).
     
  7. Sniper

    Sniper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +80
    i'm trying to decide which amp to get between these two ... I'll be using Sky SD and was inclined in getting the 875 ... i'm not too sure if I should thou' cos' if I end up using the TV's scaler it would be pointless !!
     
  8. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,084
    :confused: Well sure if you are going to use the TV scaler there may be little point in getting the 875 over the 805, I believe the reon scaling is the only advantage the 875 has.

    However if you are like me and have many different sources... HTPC, Xbox360, PS3, SD-DVD, DVD/HDD Recorder, Sky SD, Virgin-SD, EP35 HD-DVD, then the scaler may well come in handy, also again with 2 displays (1 PJ and 1 LCD) it's handy as I don't have to rely on them both having decent scaling, or accepting and displaying all inputs as well..

    The 875 has made SD Sky and Virgin look pretty damn good on the LCD and certainly watchable now on the PJ, before then the poor quality of SD broadcast was distracting on an display of that size.


    :smashin:
     
  9. pablete

    pablete
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for jumping in.
    I live in Belgium, I have Telenet HD (similar to Sky HD). I set up the TV decoder to deliver 1080i. How do I need to set up my 875 receiver? (1080p?).
    I've got a Pioneer 8G (not Full HD but 1080p capable).
    What would be the optimum set up?
    I also have a PS3....
    Thanks for your help
     
  10. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,084
    Calling The Pond Watcher!! :devil:
     
  11. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,752
    Hi pablete. :)
    PS3 > DVD scaler to off > HDMI Video Output set to AUTO and BD DVD 1080p/24 to AUTO. :smashin:
    TV settings.Need any more advice on the PS3,post here and here for the Pioneer.
    Passthrough on the Onkyo.
    All the best.
     
  12. pablete

    pablete
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kingfats,
    Thanks a lot for your help. I've checked the links you've provided me and I've found specific settings for PS3. It reccomends DVD upscaler to Full Screen for my TV model (428):
    PS3 CONSOLE SETTINGS
    SETTINGS MENU
    BD/DVD Settings
    Cinema Conversion Automatic
    DVD Upscaler
    NORMAL SCREEN (FOR 4280/428 5080 508 XD 720 sets)
    OFF (FOR ALL LX SETS 5080/508 608/6080)
    BD 1080pHz Output Automatic

    DISPLAY SETTINGS
    Video Output Settings HDMI Automatic
    Cross Colour Filter OFF
    RGB Full Range Limited
    Super White HDMI ON.

    What should I do?
    Thanks again!!!
     
  13. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,752
    Hi pablete. :)
    Sorry mate ;) i thought you had the 50" Pioneer :) yes,follow the settings in your post.I've edited a couple of settings to bring it up to date. :)
    All the best.
     
  14. kingfats

    kingfats
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    36,741
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +8,752
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice