• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Onkyo 607 & Monitor Audio R90HD Setting advice?

IrishChris

Established Member
Hey guys,
I got the Onkyo 607 there a few weeks ago. I setup using the Audysee mic but I've heard that the settings this usually gives aren't the best. Just wondering if anyone has any advice on good calibration, settings etc. Even methods to do this. I've seen that there is an iPod app for sound measurement. I'm pretty new to audio setup but I know a quite a bit on technology so not afraid of messing with it! Any advice would be much appreciated guys.

Cheers.

Oh and the speaker setup I got was :
Monitor Audio :
- 4 x R90's
- 1 x R225 Center
- 1 x R370 Sub.

Uridium

Distinguished Member
Audessey has always worked well for me. Only thing i have ever had to tweak slightly is the Speaker sizes (Change fronts from full range to small) and a couple of the volume levels as Audessey does tend to set front a little too low for dialogue to be clear.

IrishChris

Established Member
Yeah the low dialogue was something I noticed. I changed the level on the center speaker and its not too bad now.

Gerry

Established Member
I noticed when using Audessey to set up 3 spks, 2 fronts and a cntr the end result was minus values, -8dB for the fronts and -7dB for the cntr which is slightly forward. Whats the story with the minus values, I don't get it why not just leave the 2 fronts at 0 and the cntr at +1.

BTW Chris I am looking at the exact same spk setup myself(RS in Belfast I presume). What do you think of it. My only reservation was having the same fronts and rears and so was thinking of the R45's as rears. What do you think.

OnkyoUK

Established Member
Hi Guys
The Audyssey setup is always a long debate, but i will try to un-muddy the waters a bit .