Onkyo 605 first time setup - please help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by piros, Sep 18, 2007.

Tags:
  1. piros

    piros
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +408
    Hi all, got a 5.1 svs speaker package today, hooked everything up etc etc. Came to turn the 605 on and do the first time setup with the test microphone. All speakers get recognised perfectly except the centre speaker (which does give out sound) and it gives an 'error' message.

    I have no idea what to do (my first 5.1 with amp) and can't seem to find any threads on here about it, please tell me something is not wrong with my centre :lease: :(

    I have tried many times, and even moved the microphone closer to the centre. The manual doesn't say much about it except the sub may be too high or speaker broken. :(
     
  2. Curly99

    Curly99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    sorry can't help with the specific problem but have you had a look through the 605 owners thread here see if the problem has arisen in there?

    Curly

    off topic: nice to see another 605 owner from Nottingham :)
     
  3. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Try swapping the wires around on the centre speaker, it could be out of phase.

    If the speaker sounds ok with telly etc, I doubt that's where the problem lies.
     
  4. piros

    piros
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +408
    Have tried swapping around (made sure everything was +/+ -/- first anyway) Still no luck with the first time setup :(

    @ Curly: Was going to look through the thread, but was too many pages, did a search but nothing picked up for '605 error' etc :( Where abouts you from? :thumbsup:
     
  5. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    ok.
    Swap the centre speaker with one of the fronts, then re-run the setup.
    Tell us what you get.
     
  6. piros

    piros
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +408
    Ok, swapped FL with the centre, then FL now comes up as an error :( it's not looking good is it :thumbsdow
     
  7. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Looks like a call to AVSales.
    It would suggest a duff centre :thumbsdow

    It happens, I guess :(

    Fortunately, AVSales are supposed to be very good at sorting problems.

    I can only suggest you set up the amp to run with no centre in the meantime.
     
  8. piros

    piros
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +408
    Yeah, it does happen, normally to me! I remember buying my xbox 360 and and 3 red rings as soon as I powered up :p

    I'm a bit confused as sound comes out the centre though, even lightly felt the speakers and they are moving :confused:

    I guess i'll ring AV sales up first thing in the morning and try and sort it out, luckily at my work we have a courier so I can send it and they will recieve by thursday.
     
  9. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    That seems odd, if it sounds fine :confused:

    You could always set it up manually by ear for now and it might be perfectly ok, but the amp could be seeing an impedance problem or something, which wouldn't be good for a long life.
    Speak to AVSales first thing and I reckon they'll send you a new one when you've explained it all :smashin:
     
  10. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Given your description in your PM to me, I suspect the tweeter may be duff.
     
  11. piros

    piros
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +408
    Yeah, seems about right I guess, i've set it up now without the centre (would rather not risk anything else! Hopefully av sales will be nice and send one tomorrow so it'll arrive thursday (hope they reading :D) Thanks for the replies mate, will update when centres are swapped :smashin:
     
  12. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Never mind, you can at least enjoy the rest, esp the stonking sub :thumbsup:
     
  13. piros

    piros
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +408
    Ok, another question, just whacked on a hd-dvd, and, I have to turn the amp to volume level 40 before anything comes out! Surely that isn't normal, I haven't changed any settings from the first time setup without the centre and have sent the sound from hd-e1 through to 605 using an optical cable
     
  14. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    I don't know the volume scale on the Onkyo, but suspect if you turn it full down, it goes to 0.
    If that's the case, it's nothing to worry about.

    Bit late now, but if you turn it up (don't go too far until you know the amp a bit better) and it goes loud, it's not a problem.
     
  15. piros

    piros
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,090
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +408
    It seems a bit strange that you have to turn the volume all the way to 40 out of 100 just to hear something though, i'm sure I must be missing something :p My stereo amp gets too loud at just past half way!

    Just to update about the centre speaker, spoke to av-sales and hopefully it will be delivered tomorrow, very helpful and i'm amazed at how fast the swap could be :cool: :smashin:
     
  16. Curly99

    Curly99
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,255
    from the menu you can set "intellivolume" if that helps should keep all the volumes on the different inputs around the same.

    Curly

    p.s probably not the solution though
     
  17. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,923
    Full down, my Denon is -80.
    I can't hear a single peep until -55.
    Just the way it is.

    Told you they'd sort you quick :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...