One for all - kameleon 6

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Gary D, Nov 6, 2002.

  1. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    Got one of these yesterday to replace my broken Pronto (dont start me on that one - it still makes me cry!! claimed for it on the household insurance but decided to buy new speakers with the money instead)

    For anyone looking for a universal remote that doesn't cost an arm and a leg its really very, very good, looks fantastic in the dark and it's pretty flexable. Certainly better than the "bury me in it" Mosaic and half the price!

    Had a couple of issues with it when setting up my Yamaha Amp - but a call to the support line and it was sorted - customer service was excellent and FREE!!!!

    All in all - a cheap and easy remote that works very well.

    Gary
     
  2. Parmenion

    Parmenion
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Out there
    Ratings:
    +74
    Could you tell me where you got this remote. I can't seem to find it at the moment.

    Regards

    Parmenion
     
  3. BigAde

    BigAde
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    East Sussex
    Ratings:
    +30
    Would like to know how much you paid as well?!
     
  4. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    i got it from Dixons and it was £70. go to www.oneforall.com and its got some nice pictures


    Gary
     
  5. jdanielp

    jdanielp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +3
    hi there,

    i saw this remote in Stuff magazine and was thinking of getting one of these after missing out on the cheap E-Pilots from Maplins a while back. have you had any experience with that kind of touch-screen remote and how does the Kameleon 6 compare?

    also... how customisable are the buttons/animations or are you limited to pre-programmed ones? are there logos for DTS, Dolby Digital and the like for home cinema functionality? is it nice and sturdily constructed and satisfying to use? is the output fair wide-angle so that it can operate several different devices in a macro?

    thanks for any info :)

    Dan
     
  6. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    you cant customise the logos buttons etc, if you want to do that you will need to buy a pronto or something similar. its very easy to use and for the price its the best i've seen.

    You also dont have to spend months getting the setup right, i'd prefer a pronto (Like i did have - hyper ventilating must stop thinking about broken pronto......) but for the money its a winner.

    on the question of range it seems to work from anywhere in my living room.

    All in all i'm very happy with it.

    Gary

    http://www.oneforall-int.com/english/products/urc/enlarged_remotes.asp?remote=8060
     
  7. tbibic

    tbibic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +0
    A couple of questions from me too:

    1) The website implies that it is a best of both worlds solution for button feel and backlit effect - is the surface raised where the buttons are.

    2) Does it have a button for switching between wide modes??
     
  8. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    the surface of the remote is smooth, but it does provide a click when you press any of the buttons.

    I've had a chat with tech support and they tell me that the buttons that are displayed are dependant on which tv you have. i.e if you orginal remote doesn't have a button for changing screen size (i.e a 4:3 tv) then you wont get one, but if it does then you will (hope that makes sense). i've been using it for a week now and i'm very happy with it (its not as good as a pronto, but at the end of the day you get what you pay for, and for the money it the best i've used or seen.


    Hope that helps


    Gary
     
  9. iabbott

    iabbott
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if this remote will operate a tape deck and have < and > buttons for autoreverse?

    Thanks
     
  10. jdanielp

    jdanielp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +3
    in terms of setting it up for a particular device, do u simply download the remote information for that device from their Web-site into the remote and it will then automatically give you all the buttons needed or do you have to do more in terms of setting it all up? also does it then let you change what button controls which function and that kind of thing as well if you are not happy with the layout/functionality?

    cheers,

    Dan
     
  11. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    sorry for the time to reply (been on holiday) you can change any button you like and get to learn the command from the old one.

    Gary
     
  12. Tee Tee

    Tee Tee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just bought one of these myself. Must say I'm very pleased with it. I have some experience of univesal remotes and have always been put off by One for All's concept and styling. This one's a bit different as it allows macros and learning. The best bit - it worked my Cyrus amp and wait for it.....Telewest Cable STB straight out of the box!
     
  13. pcookie

    pcookie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Whoa! Just a cotton pickin minute!
    Are you saying that the kameleon will control a pace cable box? Does it control all the functions or just some of them (thoughts of finding the Holy Grail spring to mind). If so, I'm off down to Dixons! (and it's not often you'll hear me say that).

    cookie
     
  14. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    2 thumbs up from me as well. It even does ALL the functions on my Sky + box as well.
     
  15. Tee Tee

    Tee Tee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +3
    cookie

    Yes mine is a Pace cable box - the one with the iRda infra-red codes. It does all the functions, I think, except the TV button, but you can do the same thing with the OK button anyway. I'm not sure if it will learn the commands from a Telewest remote - probably not - but I'll give it a go and post my findings here. Something I did particularly like was the punch-through function which allows you to have (say) the volume for the amp always on, whatever device is selected.

    Know what you mean about Dixons!
     
  16. jdanielp

    jdanielp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +3
    these seem to be going to 59-99 free delivery from the Dixons Web-site just now (dunno how long though)! :) it's a 'Web Exclusive' so not sure if you would be able to talk them into knocking the price down in-store but might be worth a try. just a shame their 5 quid off over 50 quid spent voucher for the Web-site expired last weekend :-(
     
  17. jdanielp

    jdanielp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +3
    oh yeah, just to clarify, for individual devices like a sky/pace boxes as mentioned, does the remote automatically configure itself when you tell it what device you have? and then after that you can customise it and add macros and stuff if you want? sounds handy! might have to get one, was playing with one in Dixons today, it seems nice if rather long!
     
  18. john039

    john039
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +72
    £5 voucher is still on.

    xmas5off
     
  19. RON

    RON
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    £5 WHERE IS IT CANT FIND THE £5 OFFER FOR XMAS
     
  20. jdanielp

    jdanielp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    22
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +3
    hey, nice one john039, where did you hear about that voucher? it's different to the one i saw listed on the ukfreebies Web-site... but anyway, i put in an order, delivered for 54-99 :) just a shame it's Dixons though! how embarassing... at least i didn't have to communicate with any of their sales 'assistants'!

    Ron, to use the voucher, after adding something to your shopping basket (e.g., a One-for-all Kameleon remote!) go to the check-out and put the code into the Discount Vouchers box near the bottom of the screen and click the Add Voucher button (but be careful not to accidentally select any dodgy Dixon's coverplans!!!). this should take 5 quid off the total so then go to the checkout etc and get your order in :)
     
  21. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,786
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    glad to see everbody liked the remote. seems that one for all have made a winner at last.

    Gary
     
  22. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just one point - mine puts out a low hum when it lights up. More of a low volume buzz really.

    Anybody else have this?
     
  23. tbibic

    tbibic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes.
     
  24. pcookie

    pcookie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    428
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    Army Bloke
    A friend of mine has bought one and he commented on the same thing. Still it adds more fun to all those light sabre scenes!

    cookie
     
  25. john039

    john039
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    693
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +72
    jdanielp
    Can't remember where I saw the voucher.
    It was some bargain forum or other.
    Just happens to be one of the few vouchers I can remember easily, most of em I forget as soon as I click off the page.
     
  26. tbibic

    tbibic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2000
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep - I have it too. It is normal I believe.
     
  27. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found that the lower you have the brightness, the lower the buzz. Not that it's intrusive anyway.
     
  28. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bummer!

    Dixons website OUT OF STOCK:mad:
     
  29. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    382
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    I may of missed this one, but does it learn like the Pronto Neo from existing controllers?
     
  30. Paul D

    Paul D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    2,789
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +552
    Yep, it can learn from your old remote.;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice