1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OnDigital pace box

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by petrolhead, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    I have the OnDigital page box which I use for freeview.

    Does anyone have a userguide or info.

    I want to know if the scart can output S-VHS
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    You can find this out by checking the menu. There is a 'TV Standard' setting in there. If I recall correctly, the options are only RGB and Composite. But yours may differ. Clearly, if SVideo is an option in the menu, then I guess it's enabled. There is nothing explicit in the manual.
     
  3. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Cheers, will check this tonight :)
     
  4. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Slight delay

    The Pace does not support S-Video

    So have decided on a Pioneer.

    Do you think that I will notice an improvement over the Pace?

    If this is a favorable option what do you thing the Pace is worth if I sell it.
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    If your question is about watching (rather than recording) I recommend RGB as the signal protocol - assuming your TV will take RGB. It is a little better than SVideo. In terms of overall box picture quality then I'd say the Pioneer and Pace 735 are about equal, and both are better than Philips or Nokia equivalents.
     
  6. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    I will watch the signal thro a TV (RGB) and a projector hence the need for S-Video. The component on the PJ is already being used.

    So there will be no picture benefit?
     
  7. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Sorry to resurect this but checking the menu again.

    TV is either RGB or Composite and Video is either pal1 or SVideo

    Pal1, whats that?
     
  8. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +712
    That will be PAL I (standard used for UK rather than PAL B/G used on the continent with different sound subcarrier frequency). It's a composite video standard (Cvbs).

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     
  9. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Cheers
     
  10. andyMallion

    andyMallion
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Pace DTR 730/735 sel for around £30 on ebay
     
  11. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    I'm not selling mine E)
     
  12. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    AFAIR none of the Ondodgy boxes did SVid

    Choices are

    1) COmponent switch and Netgem IPlayer

    2) BOx with SVId - eg most Pace Freeview boxes
     
  13. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    But why is there the option under Video for Svid?
     
  14. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Hi

    I now have my Iscan HD+ and want to input the signal from my OnDigital box.

    As LV426 said earlier there is a setting for the TV standard and this is set to RGB but when I connect the box to my iscan using a scart to RGB + sync I got no picture.

    I have checked the lead by connecting to the DVD player and all is fine

    I am beginiing to wonder if the digi box actually outputs RGB. I have tested the ican using the composite and it works fine and actually improved the picture and would think that feeding the ican RGB will be even beter
     
  15. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    Mine certainly does (connected by fully wired SCART to a TV). At least, if I change it to PAL/Composite (whatever) then there is a very noticeable drop in PQ. So I guess it is doing..... This statement is true for both Pioneer and Pace 735 boxes.
     
  16. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Very strange. Will check agin against tv but my scart to RGB+Sync does not work to the scaller and neither does the Pace Twin but to chech the cable i connected to DVD and all ok
     
  17. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,481
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +82
    Ok checked and yes. When chaging between RGB and Comp there is a noticable difference. I noticed it more with the menu :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...