On-Digital boxes -what's the position on ITV

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Alan Paterson, Sep 2, 2005.

  1. Alan Paterson

    Alan Paterson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +82
    Chaps,
    I'm struggling to remember what was said about the usefulness of On-Digital boxes after they went bust.
    My neighbour brought one round tonight (A Nokia DVB 9850T) as an experiment. We live in an area where we are not supposed to receive a good signal (Surrey/Hants border). It tuned into 38 channels, none of which were the ITV channels, but the picture and sound quality of the channels it did receive was as good as Sky - which we have.
    The signal strength in the set up screen was showing as very poor i.e. only just showing on the petrol gauge.
    Is it due to the poor signal strength or will this box never receive ITV channels?
    Thanks
    Alan
     
  2. johndon

    johndon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +89
    AFAIK, you should at least get ITV1 - my mother in law has an old On Digital box and she definately gets it.

    John
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    20,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,937
    It is down to a poor signal......feed it a good strong signal and you will get every channel in the Freeview lineup.
     
  4. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,032
    Yes, indeed. They will pick up everything there is to be picked up.

    The signal strength gauge in the OnDigital software is reliant on you manually inputting the UHF channel number for the mux that interests you. Otherwise it's showing you the (zero) strength of a UHF channel with no signal on it.

    Find your channel/s here:

    http://www.dtg.org.uk/retailer/transmitters.html
     
  5. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm using a Panasonic On-Digital box which is more sensitive than a much later Samsung I have on the same feed. Only snag is the sloth of the Panny. It really can take a dogs age to react. Also both of them crash at regular intervals requiring a cold restart.
     

Share This Page

Loading...