oleds standby only?

Discussion in 'OLED TVs Forum' started by stegalv, Nov 6, 2018.

Tags:
  1. stegalv

    stegalv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    was thinking of buying a 65" oled,but have read that they have to be left on standby to allow various anti screenburn and retention software to run at regular intervals?
    at present all my av set up is turned off and on using smart plug and alexa voice control,so everything is totally off.
    is there anyway round it,if not looks like 75" led.
     
  2. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,614
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +806
    On my LG OLED, the screen "cleaner" runs after 4 hours of use (apparently).

    I wouldn't worry about it, just connect your TV to an always on socket and let it go into standby.

    You would only need to power off, if leaving for an extended period e.g. holidays.
     
  3. Crafty

    Crafty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +461
    Yes the tvs do run maintenance whilst on standby.

    There is no benefit to turning the TV off, they consume something like 0.5 watts when in standby mode.

    You could always leave it powered on in standby after use to give it time to do its maintenance and then power off if you really wanted to but there is little point in powering off.
     
  4. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,481
    Smart plugs themselves typically use 1 to 1.5w when off.
    So if energy saving is the thing then compared to the 0.5w of standby usage from an OLED the actual smartplug itself is 3 times worse.
     
  5. doug56hl

    doug56hl
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,885
    I have mine setup the same and the smart plug(s) turn off all my AV gear.
    As long as it's an LG Oled (they run the necessary cleans immediately when going into standby if more than 4 hours cumulative since last clean) and you know that a clean has run if needed, there is no problem with completely powering off imo.

    LG oleds keep power to USB ports when running a clean so there is a visual indication that one is running and also completed if you have a USB bias light plugged into one of them. Once clean has run (or none was necessary) the TV drops power to the ports and properly goes into standby.

    My E8 also, unlike my previous E6, makes a loud click as it goes into full power down standby either immediately or 6-7 minutes later after clean has completed.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2018
  6. doug56hl

    doug56hl
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,885
    Depends if you have more than just a TV connected to a smart plug....;)

    One bonus of complete power off is that all the AV gear has a clean boot every day (or whenever the gear is used). As a result I rarely, if ever, have to resort to 'power it off and on again' as I've proactively done that already....:smashin:
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2018
  7. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,481
    For some gear these days that is not necessarily a good thing.
    Tuners, DVRs etc. tend to update their EPGs in standby for example.

    These days removing some units from power means losing some features and starting from scratch on others.
     
  8. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    22,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +8,594
    You beat me to it.
     
  9. stegalv

    stegalv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    thanks for all the input,it's not energy saving just convenience of not switching individual items back on and off.
    if the tv has been on for lets say 6hrs then unplugged would it run the cleaning after 4hrs then again 2 hours after being switched back on.or do they only clean in standby.
     
  10. thewhofan

    thewhofan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    723
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +306
    Only clean in standby AFAIK
     
  11. d10brp

    d10brp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +751
    TV only runs the compensation cycles in standby, immediately after being put in standby following at least 4 hours of cumulative use since the last cycle. The cycle takes about 7 minutes and you hear a click when it is finished. If you have a device connected to the TV via USB, that device will stay powered on until the compensation cycle finishes. I have USB light strips, when on, they stay on until after the cycle is finished.

    I agree with others, your regularly used AV gear will not thank you for being turned on and off at the wall and consume tiny amounts of energy in standby.
     
  12. doug56hl

    doug56hl
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,885
    Why not, surely all that is affected by powering off completely is remote switch(s)?
    Do you leave subs with power to them all the time?
     
  13. fieldy618

    fieldy618
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all,

    Does anyone know if the Panasonic FZ802 has a pixel refresher cycle? Possibly a daft question but couldn't see anything on the Internet about it.

    Thanks
     
  14. d10brp

    d10brp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +751
    My sub has an auto on-off function. I expect most modern stuns to have that.
     
  15. doug56hl

    doug56hl
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,756
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,885
    The popular B.K. XLS400 draws 12w per hour in quiescent mode (auto off), XLS200 14W. So for the latter that is >100kw used when off per year based on 20 hours off, 4 hours on.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2018
  16. fryrpc

    fryrpc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Remember some TV's run the compensation cycle differently to LG - i.e. LG runs one when put in standby after > 4 hours on time and runs for around 7 minutes - I believe Sony runs it when it is in standby overnight and not at the point of putting it into standby. Safest advice is to leave the power socket on for the TV and put the TV into standby when not using it.
     
  17. d10brp

    d10brp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +751
    That doesn't sound ideal. No idea how much my Cambridge Audio x201 draws
     
  18. Crafty

    Crafty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +461
    I think the point is why bother to keep turning everything off at all ?
     
  19. stegalv

    stegalv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    how could i put 4 items into standby with one voice command?
     
  20. Base13

    Base13
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +14
    I turn my OLED off at the mains as I have it in my bedroom and I don’t like the power indicator light when trying to sleep.

    I have last year’s Panasonic. The screenburn routine happens when going to standby. The indicator turns yellow while it is taking place. I just turn it off when it changes to red. Only takes a few minutes.
     
  21. stegalv

    stegalv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    if im going out i dont want to stand about waiting until the lights change to red.
    with this and reading all the extra problems with oleds,i'm being drawn to 75" led.
    don't know how lg and co get away with selling tv's and then blaming the customer for watching programmes that cause burn in.
    it's like selling a sports car that will do 150 and then blame the driver for doing over 50 if the engine explodes.
     
  22. Crafty

    Crafty
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +461
    That will happen if the owner doesn't check the oil level and lets it run out !

    Sounds like OLED isn't for you, just keep in mind nothing is perfect and LCD/LED have their problems too.
     
  23. d10brp

    d10brp
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +751
    Logitech Harmony Hub + Alexa
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice