OLED 55 inch TV - Advice please

GJ121

Novice Member
Hello everyone,
I am a novice in the World of OLED TV but am looking for advice please on a 55 inch version.

My favourite things to watch are football, sport, films and streaming TV series through a variety of platforms on the Nvidia Shield Tube.

I have narrowed down my search to the following but any other suggestions would be greatly received :-

LG OLED55CX5LB 55 4K Ultra HD OLED Smart TV £999

Panasonic TX55HZ980 £900

Hisense A9G 55" £999

I was also contemplating the Philips OLED 706. £979

These are all in my budget which is around £1000 - do you think any of these prices could drop in Boxing Day /January sales.

Thanks in advance.

Dodgexander

NEW: My best value TVs, 2021-2022 Edition & 2021-2022 OLED Comparison hopefully help you.

The LG CX and Panasonic HZ980 are last year's models, already over a year on the shelf and unlikely to be discounted. These have been replaced by the C1 and JZ980 mentioned in the guide and perform similarly. The 2020 Panasonic models have better shadow detail than the 2021 ones, but no HDMI 2.1.
Philips OLED706 whilst a 2021 model came out early this year, also can't see it being reduced much more.

Hisense A9G not really worth considering, they seem to have issues this year and their picture processing is behind the curve.

I think the $900-1000 figure is where they start selling OLEDs close to cost, out of the ones you've picked out, most people would go for the LG CX or Philips OLED706.

GJ121

Novice Member
NEW: My best value TVs, 2021-2022 Edition & 2021-2022 OLED Comparison hopefully help you.

The LG CX and Panasonic HZ980 are last year's models, already over a year on the shelf and unlikely to be discounted. These have been replaced by the C1 and JZ980 mentioned in the guide and perform similarly. The 2020 Panasonic models have better shadow detail than the 2021 ones, but no HDMI 2.1.