1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Old sky+ drive in computer

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by bigal999, Jul 28, 2005.

  1. bigal999

    bigal999
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi can any one help me my computers hard drive is full.
    I was wondering what is involved in adding my old drive from my sky + into it.
    My tinkering so far is changing hard drive in v1 sky+ and adding firewire pci card to my computer, Packard Bell I Media 5109.
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You can, but you will need to change the jumper on the drive from "CS" to "slave" (assuming your existing drive is set to "master").
     
  3. Dazza7

    Dazza7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You may also have to do a low level format, I just had to on one of my old Sky hardrives.
     
  4. bigal999

    bigal999
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I do a do a low level format?
    Thanks.
     
  5. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    What operating system are you running?

    Gareth.
     
  6. bigal999

    bigal999
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Right hand click on MY Computer>chose manage> on left hand side, chose disk management> in the lower part of the window, you should see the drive (may prompt you to initialise the disk). initialise the disk. richt click on the grey box with the drive information. Depending on what state the drive is in, you should be able to format, or create a new partition from scratch.

    Gareth.

    P.s.

    This is off the top of my head... any probs im sure you'll come back to us :)
     
  8. Phantom Phixer

    Phantom Phixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    That is NOT a low level format.
     
  9. Cyril

    Cyril
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,113
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +39
    Low level formats are very rarely required or used nowadays.

    A standard format as described above will be OK.
     
  10. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ok, if you want a "reletivly low-level format", make sure you uncheck the box saying quick format so you do a long format. This is not also a proper intensive low format, but this is the most you will need to do without diognostics on drive performance. You only really need that kind of stuff when working on high end storage systems... Like my 4 TB media raid!

    Gareth.
     
  11. Phantom Phixer

    Phantom Phixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unchecking 'Quick Format' does not affect the formatting at all. All it does is cause the system to read every sector to check for read errors.

    What Windows calls formatting is purely an initialisation of the partition with trhe necessary information for the system to use it. Low level formatting is the actual creation of the sectors on the drive. If a drive needs low level formatting there is a serious problem.
     
  12. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Modern IDE drives do not require low-level formatting. On the majority of modern drives, the numbers of physical heads/sectors/tracks is not what it says on the tin. The electronics of the drive mimics that format - the actual physical format can be very different.
     
  13. BDCSTENG GARETH

    BDCSTENG GARETH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +8
    I would say that checking for read/write error constitutes a "reletivly low-level format", in conparative terms... But thats why I said "reletivly" due to the fact I know what a Low level format is!

    Anyway, Im sure that is all the drive will need to work.

    Gareth.
     
  14. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +309
    Oh, I assumed you wrote "reletivly" because you couldn't spell "relatively". ;)
     
  15. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    The best way by far of doing it is to get hold of a copy of MS DOS 6.22, boot your PC on it, and run a program called FDISK. From there you can remove the old partition, and install a new one. As part of the process it checks the disk surface for bad sectors, and marks the bad ones as "bad". The PC then reboots, and you use a program called FORMAT to format the drive using the command FORMAT C: (or whatever the letter of the drive is).
     
  16. Monty Burns

    Monty Burns
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Londoner living in Doha, Qatar
    Ratings:
    +139
    He speaks words of wisdom.

    From what I recall, although ive never actually tried this, if you do some how manage to low level format an Inteligent Drive Electronics disk you can very easily destroy it.
     
  17. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    That was true of many early IDE drives, but modern ones "go through the motions" of a low level format without actually doing one. If you erase the boot sector with FDISK and create a new one, formatting the rest of the drive is a formality anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...