1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Old Sky cards working again...

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by lynx, Oct 2, 2003.

  1. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    For some reason the old cards are working with some strange channel packages and FTA.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I wonder if this is Sky's "freeveiw" package that they are selling for £6.99 a month or may be they have been forced to reinstate ITV 4 and CH5????? Are these coming through Lynx?
     
  3. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Yep...though i get the feeling this is experimental or temp.
     
  4. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I would have thought that SKY had decided not to p**s off the regulators by abandoning the original Videoguard authorisation system during the period of time between Tesse Jowell wrote to the parties involved and their replies or resolutions had been presented.

    My original FTV card has been in the digibox continuously and hasn't shown any warning banners for three weeks at the very least.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    I heard that sky were being forced to supply a media guard cam for use in other boxes not sure if it is true but it would make life a lot easier for people wanting sky and FTA or other subs without needing 2 boxes!
     
  6. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    Media Guard is owned by the Kudelski group who are a rival to NDS (actually bigger than NDS) who supply SKY with their VideoGuard technology.

    SKY will never allow their encryption to be weakened by offering a CAM even though it could be argued that current EU legislation requires it (Not by me, but I've seen that point put across).
    A CAM for the US cable version of Videoguard is on the market and a year or so ago there were strong rumours that the encryption has been broken and at least one customer of NDS was perpard to ditch the encryption.
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Soory i meant Video guard yeah it was the EU regulation that i was told about, Maybe we have found a use for brussels after all? I'm not sure i agree with the legislation but have yet to actually read it!!! However i do feel that Sky's stranglke hold is too tight!!!
    I really hope that a solution can be reached. Just a pity ITV Digital was such a flop!!!!! And its a pity the cable companies are in such a mess!
     

Share This Page

Loading...