Old sky box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by davewc, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. davewc

    davewc
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm getting Sky+ installed. My understanding is the old sky box is mine as I have had Sky for a couple of years, so I can sell it. How much should I expect for a two year old Panasonic box?:clown:
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Dunno but there doesn't seem to be much of a market for them.
    I've been trying to sell my Grundig for a while now and no-ones interested.
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    Checkout e-bay, you should find plenty for sale which will give you a price guide. The Panasonic range have a good rep, probably the most sort after digiboxes on the second hand market.

    No interest in relocating the Pana as a second digital source with a FTV card or mirror sub then?
     
  4. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,552
    where do you get a ftv card,i am using my old sky card and picking up most of the free channels but not sure how long that card will last for?
     
  5. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +56
    there has been a lot of talk about existing sky cards ftv and they will be switched off soon, a new one costs 23.5 and can be ordered here.

    http://www.free2view.tv./

    Also a box with a FREE2VIEW is more valuable but why not keep it as a spare.

    gb--
     
  6. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    So if I split the feed from my dish and run it into the bedroom into my old sky box with a freeview card I can get all the freeview channels through the digibox?
     
  7. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +56
    Brogan, u need separate feeds for each digibox from the dish, hence quad lnb = 4 feeds, dual = 2.

    this means 2 or 4 runs of cable.

    gb---
     
  8. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I've got a quad lnb with 2 runs for the Sky+ box but I'm pretty sure I could get away with splitting one of them.
    Only 1 of the boxes would ever be on at one time so it shouldn't cause any major problems with signal degradation.
    Then again, it would only be a 5 minute job to run a new feed...but I'm just being lazy...:D
     
  9. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +56
    its not wotrth trying to split and u could bugger ur quad lnb!!
     
  10. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    I would be splitting it in the loft where the feed goes into the distribution amp so no risk to the lnb.
    A simple job of inserting a splitter just before the feed enters the amp.
     
  11. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can't split an LNB feed to two Digiboxes. You can *switch* it but not split it - for reasons that should be obvious.

    OK, I'll spell it out;

    Digibox 1 wants high band and Digibox 2 wants a low band programme. So Digibox 1 sends a 22kHz signal to the LNB to tell it to switch to high band. Digibox 2 doesn't. (Which one wins?)

    Digibox 1 wants a Horizontally polarised channel and Digibox 2 wants vertical. So Digibox 1 is sending a 22kHz signal AND 18 volts to the LNB. Digibox 2 is sending 13 volts to the LNB. (Which one wins? In fact, will Digibox 2 survive having 18 volts shoved up its tuner?)

    And so on...
     
  12. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks Fernsehman.
    I guess I wasn't thinking exactly how a satellite feed works...:blush:
    I was likening it to a standard RF TV/Radio feed which contains ALL channels simultaneously.

    Oh well, I'll have to get the ladders out then...
     
  13. MrFurious

    MrFurious
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2000
    Messages:
    14,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cardigan Wales
    Ratings:
    +1,552
    not sure if i can do this but,my sky+dish has 4 outputs on it,two are running to the sky+ box in my lounge,i have a panny digibox on my spare room,could i run a cable from one of the other outputs to the back of that box?
     
  14. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Yep.
     

Share This Page

Loading...