Old School - Panasonic NV-DS5. Can I copy the video onto my PC?

the_ginga_ninja

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

Hopefully It'll be a simple answer to a simple question!

I've borrowed my friends old 'corder, and it seems to do the job that I need for the moment, in fact as it was £1,400 new 9 years ago it's probably as good as a new £200 job!

Anyway, I managed to find the original user manual for it online at Panasonic's web-site and it states that it can only copy digital still images to a computer.

Is this a physical hardware issue, or simply that 10 years ago PCs able to do this were in the realm of pros only and therefore you had to use a 'home editing desk'?

I'm assuming it'll be a simple case of fire-wire cable and some appropriate editing software to convert the tape to digital, but I'm a novice here.

Thanks all!

TGN

If its Mini -dv and has a firewire connection then yes just capture with appropriate software if you have xp then you have windows movie maker that will do it .You do not need to convert to digital it already is if its mini -dv and if it is'nt a wee bit Pompous in its probably as good as todays £200 models dont you think

Thanks for the reply Jay.

If it came across as pompous then I apologise, as it was not meant in that way. I was stating that in my opinion the quality of the image that I've been getting off of it, the low light ability, the decent optical zoom, image stabilisation and decent sized LCD that it has is as good as I would expect from a new £200 camcorder.

No offense intended. :oops:

TGN

Now that we've cleared that.. *coughs* :) It should be possible with Firewire to capture the video to the PC