1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Old Pace NTL Box...

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by markpearcy, Dec 5, 2004.

  1. markpearcy

    markpearcy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    1 month ago we ditched NTL for Sky+ + Multiroom. I am awaiting an Epson Tw10H projector and wish to connect via component to the Amstrad extra box Sky have given me. NTL havent come round to pick up the old Pace NTL unit. Will that old unit work with my Sky viewing card?

    I am a bit disappointed that audio out on the Amstard seems to be limited to SCART. With a Pioneer VSX814 receiver what type of SCART - > "something" lead would be best to get audio thru receiver, video thru receiver/or projector/
     
  2. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +712
    No - because NTL don't use $ky (videoguard) encryption.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979




    There should be twin RCA phonos for sperate audio output on the digibox, you won't get dolby digital from them but you will get stereo/dolby surround etc.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    does amstrad not have optical (toslink output)
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    All SKY+ hardware is built to the same spec (connection wise) with the exception of the SKY+ 160 which has additional USB ports. For the price it should also have had a second RGB scart, component video and a coaxial digital connection for max flexibilty!

    The Amstrad in question is I gather a standard digibox supplied for a multiroom installation and will have RCA phonos for audio.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    ah thoiught he was talking about an AMstrad Sky+ box....
     

Share This Page

Loading...