1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

old or new?

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by MonkeyNutz, Mar 19, 2005.

1. MonkeyNutz

MonkeyNutz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi, I hope people dont mind I`ve cross posted this from another thread as I thought I`d get a better response here:

I`ve been looking into getting a decent sound system for my TV. I cant decide whether to get a good quality 2nd handsystem or a new system. In particular I was looking at a brand new Yamaha RXV650RDS which I`m hearing good things about, but now I`m tempted by an old Arcam Diva AVR 100 which Ive seen going cheap. Could anybody give me any advice on which is the better??

Whilst I`m a complete novice at the home cinema thing I do like good quality audio.

Any help much appreciated

Thanks

2. MonkeyNutz

MonkeyNutz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi, I thought I`d give you some more information on my position as the original post was a little vague.

I`m going to be using an Arcam Diva DV78 DVD Player as my source.
    The system will be replacing my aging NAD stereo system. So I want it to sound at least as good as that for CD playback. Will the yamaha amp be up to the job?

Also for watching films will the higher quality arcam running in dolby digital or DTS sound better than the yamaha running in the more modern ES or EX modes?

Also I havnt chosen my speakers yet, can anyone recomend any about the £300 pound range (it doesnt matter whether they are new or second hand)

I know the answer is kinda based on individual taste but I`m new to home cinema and any pointers in the right direction would be great.

thanks

3. Tee Jay

Tee Jay

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0