1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OK to run 2 sets of speakers off same set of terminals?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by wyerd, Jan 7, 2005.

  1. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    Is it OK to do this, or will it bugger my amp/receiver? What sort of audio levels would I get? Any other thoughts?

    Cheers,
    David.
     
  2. KingOfGondor

    KingOfGondor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    i don't think it is recommend. that said you can bi-wire using the same terminal so maybe its possible
     
  3. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    Bear in mind that if you run the speakers in parallel,you will effectively halve the impedance seen by your amplifier,and whilst some amps are fine with 4 ohm loads or less,some are not,and either damage,or overload protection may occur.

    Bi-wiring is not the same generally speaking,as the amplifier still sees the same overall load in terms of impedance,via the speaker's crossover.
     
  4. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
  5. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    Run another pair of speakers off the "B" set. One goes to kitchen, the other to the lounge. Or is there a better way?
     
  6. KingOfGondor

    KingOfGondor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    if you have two pairs of terminals the you can have speakers in the lounge and kitchen. you should be able to switch the speakers and have A or B, A+B
     
  7. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    A is already being used in the Plasma room!
     
  8. bobwylie

    bobwylie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy
    Ratings:
    +0
    If A is used by your "plasma room", then that would leave B free for your kitchen run, or are we missing something...
     
  9. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    I also need audio in the lounge (yet another room!)
     
  10. bobwylie

    bobwylie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kirkcaldy
    Ratings:
    +0
    my apologies. I knew I missed something
     
  11. the mechanic

    the mechanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,193
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wrexham,North Wales
    Ratings:
    +52
  12. wyerd

    wyerd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2000
    Messages:
    758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Upstate New York. USA
    Ratings:
    +27
    I think I can do what I want by using the amps A B switch for the passive speakers in the plasma room and the lounge. Then I can run a pair of active speakers off the PC's sound card (M-Audio 2496) in the kitchen - in effect zoning it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...