1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ok then, reading all this RGB stuff

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by UselessPratt, Apr 30, 2003.

1. UselessPratt

UselessPratt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I am new to this, and still trying to understand all these cables. I am a bit confused.
    Bascially, my DVD has component. So has my Tv. But the hub of the system has RGB (Sky). I know I can go from my DVD to the Sky box using RGB Scart and then, with a special cable, I can go from the Sky box to the Tv - this uses component with sync on composite. But the question is, is this intelligent? Is it better to plug the DVD component directly to the Tv component and the Sky also directly to the Tv but through the lesser composite?? ( Bearing in mind that ultimately the idea is to get max quality on the DVD) ?? Or will the loss in quality be severe for Sky ( I am thinking it will not!).

2. mjn

mjn
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,934
    if you have enough SCARTS, just wire each component directly into the TV.

3. UselessPratt

UselessPratt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi!
    Damn Tv has no scarts at all. It has 1 Composite, 1 Component and 1 S-VHS inputs. My problem is I am not sure whether to wire everything in to the Component, or whether to wire the DVD to component and the Sky to the composite ( since Sky can not use the S-VHS there is nothing else left. ). I am slightly worried that wiring them all into the component ( in other words wirre the DVD to the sky, then the sky to the component) the Sky will actually degrade the quality. Especially if I play region 1 disks. Or am I talking total crap?

4. StooMonster

StooMonster

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +314