1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OK - so which Plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by rosbif, Jul 2, 2003.

1. rosbif

rosbif
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK - so I am new to this but the wife has (foolishly) given me permission to buy a new TV....

So I was wondering -
    • I have a budget of around £3000 ish so would ideally like a 42" screen
    • I have a home cinema set up already so am not too bothered about the sound but would like stereo speakers to come with the tele (when I can't be ar*ed to turn the amp on)
    • I would prefer a wall mount although a stand would not be the end of the world
    • I need a tuner box which supports SECAM aswell as PAL (I am in France at the mo but may return to the UK in a few years)
    • I watch 65% SKY and 35% DVDs - would like to be able to watch French tele to perfect the language though!
    • I would prefer a separate tuner box so I can hide all the connecters away
    • I would like PIP if possible as my current TV has it and I find it useful to keep an eye on sport when the missus is trying to watch something else...
    Recommendations on this board seem to be for the Panasonic and the Hitachi. Would either of those fulfill these criteria? Can I pick up a cheaper 5 series pany or should I pay the extra for the new ones? It gets so confusing as to which come with tuners etc. as they all have different model numbers!

Any advice gratefully received!

2. rosbif

rosbif
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone? :eek:

3. Cool-hand

Cool-hand

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +77