OK Smart Guys,another PC question

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Drd, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. Drd

    Drd
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,904
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Approaching the doghouse at great speed
    Ratings:
    +301
    I'm not the best at keyboards,I cannot type and look at the screen at the same time, and occasionally I LEAVE THE CAPS LOCK ON BY MISTAKE!Is there a way of returning this to lower case without erasing and retyping it?
    Cheers
    Ian
     
  2. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    24,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +12,765
    I don't think so.
     
  3. Jason_S

    Jason_S
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +56
    If you are in a microsoft office application, SHIFT-F3 will do this for you, you will need to re add the caps at the beginning of the sentance, however if you are not in an MS office app then i would recommend copying into one and doing it, give it a try :)
     
  4. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,831
    Never knew that - damn thing works too :thumbsup:
     
  5. Jason_S

    Jason_S
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +56
    i forgot to mention that you have to select the text you want to change, should be self explanitary, and im happy to help :)
     
  6. boltoa

    boltoa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +104
    Depends what application you're using. Some have shortcuts to do it. In MS Word, select text and use ctrl+shft+A to flip case, or the Format/Change Case menu. Other apps may have similar - need to look in help.

    Andrew
     
  7. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,831
    Outlook?
     
  8. boltoa

    boltoa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    920
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +104
    Blimey, well late for that.

    The Shift-F3 option will apply sentence case (ie first letter capitalised). Just keep pressing it to cycle through.

    Andrew
     
  9. Jason_S

    Jason_S
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +56
    Definately if word is set to be your email editor, but not if its just set and to HTML and word not ticked as the email editor :)
     
  10. DJT75

    DJT75
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,831
    ah-ha, & there lies the problem

    thanks
     
  11. Drd

    Drd
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,904
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Approaching the doghouse at great speed
    Ratings:
    +301
    Damn,I've spent years meaning to ask that question,now I know.It's soooo simple when you know how.Thanks all.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...