OK, I give up! purchasing 49/50" TV

HarryHornby2020

Novice Member
Hi All, newbie here. I've been lurking and reading for sometime on here, trying to get an understand of the correct TV for me and I give it. I was trying to avoid the question, but here it is. What TV/s should I be narrowing it down to?

I've read the guides on here and think I have enough questions answered:

We currently have a Samsung LE40R88BD (it was gifted to us about 5 years ago when our friends upgraded their TV). Looking to buy a 49" or 50". Sadly a 55 is too big for the space

Sources - we are still stuck back in the day, LOL

Humax Freeview HDR - Try to watch HD mostly on this
Netflix, SD only, too tight to pay for HD ha ha. This may change
Disney +
Xbox One - I play once a week, not a massive gamer
upscaling DVD player - really should get a Bluray soon
Maybe with a Smart TV we'll do more HD streaming of sport. Actually, I KNOW this will be the case

PQ atributes.

I honestly don't know. I would just like a good picture. I know I don't like TVs that shout at you. I prefer a natural picture.
If I had to put one thing first I guess blacks, because in some of the darker, period dramas on TV and or films sometimes things can be hard to see.

Lighting in the room. Of an evening we rarely sit in darkness. We have 1 or 2 standard lamps on in the corners of the room opposite the TV. It gives the room a nice light, good enough to read but not like Blackpool illuminations.

BUGS

I guess motion blur - for watching sport

As to which is most important to me out of the following. ALL of them, ha ha.

Price - £600 max
Connections At least 3 HDMI, would prefer 4, gives me a spare then
Smart TV (which apps)? - Netflix, disney + and STB EMU
HDR PQ
SDR PQ
Sound - Don't want tinny, but doesn't need to boom, happy with good, basic sound.
Wide Viewing angles - well this is where I'm not sure, VA vs IPS is doing my nut.