Ohhhh!! - Something else is broke... my PC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by marcofoo, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi all

    I am beginning to think that every time something gets fixed something else must break. Here's the problem...

    Got home from work on Friday and sat down at my PC for a bit of Footy Manager and some music, then mid-game my PC turns itself off. Didn't think it would be any worse than a lost saved game so turned it back on, powered up ok but there was no image on the screen. I checked all cables and whatnot, powered off and on again... same problem.

    I have previously had to change the power supply due to a similar problem to this. That was maybe 6-8 months ago. Surely it cant have gone again? The one I have in there is pretty decent.

    Would like some expert advice before I start fiddling with it myself.

    Cheers guys.
     
  2. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Right... after 2 days of my PC being at rest I gave it a hoover, although there was minimal dust (and a cobweb) but am still feeling vulnerable.

    Any idea what may have caused this to happen?
     
  3. blingo

    blingo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +53
    Welcome to life of owning a pc. I work in IT and my pcs/servers at home have given me so much problems over the years i have gone down into depth to fix it but after giving up at times like 3am and going back to it the next day to find out its working.

    Might not be much help but check your event viewer on the time it shutdown. Could point you in the right direction.
     
  4. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    8,855
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,187
    Get a temperature monitoring application and run it in the background and see what is reports.

    As it may be that your pc is running too hot.
     
  5. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Cheers guys. How do I check the event viewer? Also, can u recommend me a tempertaure app?
     
  6. blingo

    blingo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +53
    Right click my computer and click on manage.
    Did your mobo come with any apps. If you got a asus board you can use the pc probe software it comes with.
     
  7. kaidiez

    kaidiez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    speedfan is nice, erm, how are you going to check the event viewer if your screen is blank? By blank do you mean screen wont turn on because there is no signal or theres a signal but its showing nothing?
     
  8. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    sorry, i thought i mentioned that after i hoovered the pc it worked ok.

    i am now looking for some preventative measures to stop it happening again.
     
  9. KHA2005

    KHA2005
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sounds like a graphics card temp problem to me, no picture on screen because graphics card is too hot to display one, which would have still been too hot upon rebooting. After a while it would cool down. What card is it and if you can check its temp while playing a game just to make sure.
     
  10. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks

    It is a Radeon X1950 PRO Sapphire graphics card. I have both my monitor and TV plugged into it.

    How can I monitor the temperature of it?
     
  11. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry, what is a mobo?
     
  12. KHA2005

    KHA2005
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I personally can see the temp of my ATI card from the Catalyst Control Centre under the Overdrive tab, but if you can't try ATI Tray tools, available from here:

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/atitraytools/189/

    It's probably unlikely to be temp really, worth a try though. Could be that you have a TV and monitor plugged in at same time, try unplugging the TV or monitor and see if that helps.

    Good luck :thumbsup:
     
  13. blingo

    blingo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +53
    mobo = Motherboard
     
  14. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Cheers. I am now using asus... temp is around 48'C after 2 hours use.
     
  15. KHA2005

    KHA2005
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    48 C is not bad at all for a graphics card, so it doesn't seem to be that...

    If it happens again then I would be worried, but sometimes PC just seem to have random bugs sometimes. Maybe something slightly wrong with your X1950 maybe?
     
  16. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    It.s happened again. Had my pc on for an hour then the screen went off but the pc was still running. Turned it off and removed all cables, let it rest for 20mins then turned back on and all is ok.

    Very annoying!
     
  17. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi again. My problem has just taken a turn for the worse...

    When i turn my pc on it powers up but there is no indication that windows is starting up i.e. Beeps and lights. The monitor does not respond whatsoever either.

    I had this problem once before and had to change the power supply. The one i have is decent and not very old. Surely i cant be that again?

    Would reallyar any help Thanks
     
  18. marcofoo

    marcofoo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    This may help towards a solution...

    Pc stays powered up for 20secs then turns itself off.

    Dvd drive is responsive for those 20secs i.e. Opens and closes.

    All fans working ok including the one built into graphics card and power supply unit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...