Quantcast

Oh my !!

teljess

I have been a carpenter for 25 years and recently moved north and started working for a loft conversion company. Whilst working here I have noticed that the owner off the company likes to skip corners.

20200109_172510.jpg

This is a soil pipe chased into a 9 " party wall needless to say that the brickwork is not supported above it.

What do you think ?

There are lots of examples of work that could show you but I still work there at the moment so I have to be careful

IronGiant

Nah, that's structural foam that is :devil::D

teljess

The thing is that is where the stairs are going and we had enough room to put a stud wall up and the pipework behind it but he didn't want to pay for the timber work to do it with 🤔

DemonAV

Distinguished Member
I have no idea about building as I can't even put up a shelf so I cannot possibly comment further.

stiv674

Putting my serious head on, horizontal chases should be a maximum depth of 1/6th of the wall thickness, as they're 100mm bricks then that's just 16mm :eek:

IronGiant

Putting my serious head on, horizontal chases should be a maximum depth of 1/6th of the wall thickness, as they're 100mm bricks then that's just 16mm :eek:
Should have used 15mm copper then :laugh:

John7

It's hardly a "chase" - it looks like he's taken two whole rows of brick out of a structural wall! I'd be dropping an anonymous note to the Local Authority Building Control.

teljess

He has taken 2 rows out !!! They have had a independent building control round and he's ok with it 🤔 if I didn't need the job then I would inform local building control about all the other corners cut as well

shotokan101

Distinguished Member
Probably not that anonymous though...... Unfortunately :(

Dwayne Dibley

I'm NOT an expert.
NOT much of a DIYer if truth be told.
BUT, surely you can't replace a row of bricks with a plastic pipe. Could that not bring the roof down?

John7