oh dear - still got old EPG

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Fordy, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. Fordy

    Fordy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +24
    With all this talk of the reshuffle supposedly happening THIS WEEK (Source- Digital Spy), i would like to ask why I still have the "old" dark blue EPG?

    I have had 4 (lost count, could be 6) different boxes since the middle of august for one reason or another, my last replacement was 3 weeks ago. It had the old EPG on it. I questioned this and the engineer said it would update within the net 24 hours or so, if it doesn't do a force download. It didn't, I did and still nothing. I cant be bothered phoning Sky about this, they still haven't put all my channels back on since I downgraded in september and frankly I cant put up with them any more.

    Will I get the new EPG this week/next week/whenever it happens, or will I have to endure Skys Customer Services again?
     
  2. bowenjones

    bowenjones
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +448
    I upgraded to sky+ about 3 weeks ago and still haven't had the new software update yet. My old box had the upgrade about a week before. I think the reason why I haven't had the newer EPG is because of all the problems that are associated with it (read the live pause thread). I beleive that sky are no longer updating the software untill they come up with a fix that addresses these problems. With all the grief that everyone is getting, we should be thankfull that we haven't had the update yet :D
     
  3. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    yes, don't be in a rush for it, it's bloody terrible
     
  4. Fordy

    Fordy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +24
    But I already had it, before the muppetry of the mixes started. Then because the idiots at Sky still wont properly acknowledge they have a problem, I've had 6 boxes since september. So no updates.
     
  5. gavan

    gavan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    3,984
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Rapture
    Ratings:
    +286
    Huh? You should be thankful that you've got the old software. It's pretty stable and the 'upgrade' actually adds very little functionality anyway, never mind the annoying problems experienced by many users.

    From the looks of things, they may have stopped issuing the upgrade so if you are lucky enough to somehow have a box with the older software - rejoice!


    Gav
     
  6. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    indeed!!...they will update when it is stable again.....whenever that might be
     
  7. Fordy

    Fordy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +24
    But if the reshuffle happens this or next week, where does that leave me?

    Plus why aren't I getting emails telling me there's replies to my thread?
     

Share This Page

Loading...