Octava HDS4A-UK - no audio

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by wiringmonkey, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. wiringmonkey

    wiringmonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I'm really hoping someone can help with a problem I'm having with an Octava HDS4A-UK.

    I have it connected as follows:

    HDMI out from Sky+ to HDMI In 1 on the Octava
    Optical audio out from Sky+ to Optical In 1 on the Octava

    HDMI Out of Octava to HDMI In 1 on Samsung D8000 TV
    Optical Out of Octava to Optical In on Samsung HT-C6500 home cinema

    The problem is I get no audio out of the Samsung. Optical out of the Sky+ direct to the C6500 works fine, so I doubt it's an issue with cables etc. Video comes through the Octava fine - just not the audio. I've already sent the unit back to the supplier once and they've sent it back to me saying it's working perfectly, so I'm left scratching my head a bit.

    I've tried the usual unplugging everything and powering up in different sequences, and the Optical Out of the Octava is lit up red - so hoping someone cleverer than me can offer an opinion?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,229
    Is SKY+ HD the only Source you have connected to the Switch?

    If you have other Sources connected via HDMI + Optical are they working OK?

    Joe
     
  3. wiringmonkey

    wiringmonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried with other sources connected as well but it makes no difference - regardless of which input the devices are plugged in the audio still doesn't come through the Octava...
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,229
    With a Source Connected (HDMI + Optical) and selected on the Switch what happens if you cycle the AV Amp into and then Out of Standby?

    Joe
     
  5. wiringmonkey

    wiringmonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the suggestion Joe - I tried power cycling the amp - but still nothing unfortunately!
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,229
  7. wiringmonkey

    wiringmonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Joe - thanks for your continued assistance!

    I have checked using the Update feature in the Samsung amp and yes - its or the latest firmware on there...
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,229
    Do you have access to another AVR with Optical Input - I'm pretty sure I saw your unit back here recently and ran it for an afternoon with a few Source devices feeding a Display plus a Yamaha RX-V3800 AVR without any problems.

    I also tested the unit Optical Out into a MoodLab Dice DAC!

    The unit may be working but we have an incompatibility with your Samsung unit!

    Joe
     
  9. wiringmonkey

    wiringmonkey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Joe,

    I thought that! Think it may be something between the Octava and Samsung not playing ball...

    I don't have access to another AVR easily unfortunately, but I'm open the replacing the Samsung 6500 as its not that great anyway!

    Any recommendations on a decent AVR to go for? Would I be better off just buying an AVR that can do the HDMI/Optical switching itself?

    Thanks!
     
  10. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,229
    I'm not that clued up on what is good/bad in terms of combi BD/DVD/AVR all-in-one type units!

    I installed a Yamaha YTH-S401 for one of my neighbours last week (we couldn't rip the room up to install Speaker cables) and that was pretty good matched up with SKY+ HD and a PS3.

    A more typical install for us would include a Yamaha or Onkyo AVR plus either Anthony Gallo or KEF 5.1 Speaker system.

    Joe

    PS Always happy to talk over some options!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice