1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

nw-hd5 phone upgrade

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by schrum, Aug 9, 2005.

1. schrum

schrum

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I'm new to sony's network walkmans. I would like to upgrade my headset to a better sounding one. I would like to know what you guys and gals recommend for phones. I would like to get the best sound for the price with out it costing as much as the player itself.

Thanks

2. Uridium

Uridium

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,858
    For decent'ish sound without spending Silly ££'s I use Sony MDR-EX71SL's, I'd advise buying from Argos or somewhere though so you can take them back if you don't get on with them as some people find the "In-Ear canal" design uncomfortable.

Following some recommendations I recently tried Sennheiser MX500's but compared to my Sony EX71's they were so pi** poor they were back in Argos within 2 hours

3. shadowritten

shadowritten

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or try the Sony MDR-J20s - way more comfy than the EX71s, excellent over/in ear design and plenty of bass without ruining treble. Midrange is a little less open than I'd like, but acceptable overall. All for only £15!

4. Steven

Steven
    Senior Moderator

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6,211
    Buy off amazon - cheaper and free delivery

Sony EX71 £26
    Sony EX81 £26 (adds ear hooks)

5. DantheMan

DantheMan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    For non in-ear phones get the Koss Porta Pros. I used to use the EX71s, had two pairs and both broke after 6-8 months. Good bass in them and sound isolation but other than that not great. After that I decided for a different pair and went for the Porta pros, they aren't that stylish but sound very good in my opinion.