1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NW HD3 - sending it straight back!

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by darrens, Feb 16, 2005.

  1. darrens

    darrens
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, after just two days I am sending my NW HD3 back. Perhaps it's my own fault because I had read on this forum some of the problems but I thought that it probably on affected a few people and I would be fine.

    I wasn't.

    There were a whole load of niggly little problems that I could just about live with but I had 2 that were imho showstoppers.

    1. Sonic Stage

    Yup, it's a fairly un-friendly bit of software but I could live with that. What I couldn't live with was the fact that after I installed it it would run once fine (as fine as it could do) and but if I closed it and then tried to start it up again it wouldn't start. Just went through the startup and dumped be back to the desktop without an error message. If I re-installed the software then the same would happen again. Would start fine once, but not again.

    2. Background hiss

    There is background hiss on all the tracks. That's using the supplied ear-phones. Perhaps there wouldn't be if I used different phones but I'm not going to even experiment given the problems above.

    To cap it all I just spent half an hour on the phone to Sony and they couldn't help and just suggested the problem was with my PC.

    If you've got an HD3 and haven't got these problems then congratulations - it's a nice bit of kit. But given my experiences, which seems to echo what other people have found, then I suspect that Sony have dropped the ball on this one.

    The only question is - what do I get instead?
     
  2. shelteringsky

    shelteringsky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i´ve just ordered a nw-hd3 even i´ve heard that people has had problems with that hiss. I read that the hiss is a manufacture problem... i hope that i have no problems, otherwise i will send it back too.

    just a question: did you transfer your music to the hd3 in mp3 or in atrac? most of the people have complained because of using mp3 instead of atrac...(that might be source of the hiss...just theories... ) i´ll use atrac...

    sony suggested that the problem was with your pc not only with the problem of sonicstage but with the hiss also?

    i´m scaring myself.....
    :confused:
     
  3. darrens

    darrens
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I transferred some in mp3 (that I already had on my PC) and some in atrac that I ripped myself. There was hiss on both.

    I didn't ask Sony about the hiss because it was academic by that point.

    To be perfectly honest I am a Sony fan but this product falls far short of their standards. I don't think it is ready for market yet and they seem to have rushed it out. I think some people will have no problems, some will have a few problems and live with it and some will send it back.

    I hope you're one of the lucky ones.
     
  4. nex78

    nex78
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I assume that the hissing is just a bug in some of the players manufactured. Most players have no such problems... well mine and the punters down the road. Send em back and get a new one? Ive used shure E2c things, and the sony £25 fanotopia ones. Both are fine. All of my tracks are in mp3 as well.
     
  5. SuperSaiyan4

    SuperSaiyan4
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +49
    Does the NW-HD1 have a hiss problem?
     
  6. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,065
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    Some have been reported and others havent. Mine hasn't :)
     
  7. SuperSaiyan4

    SuperSaiyan4
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +49
    Well I have ordered mine yesterday but as its an old model now I wonder if Sony actually upgraded it or if the problems have been sorted out.
     
  8. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,065
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    The upgrade costs £15 via Sony UK. It will not come upgraded in the box. So cannot play MP3's natively.
     
  9. SuperSaiyan4

    SuperSaiyan4
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +49
    Thanks I will just stick to Atrac 3 then lol
     
  10. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,065
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +374
    If you've got loads of MP3's it can take a while to convert them to Atrac and you will lose a bit of quality on conversion.

    £15 is worth it for the hassle I'd say.
     

Share This Page

Loading...