1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NW-HD3 Review... I'm in love.

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by briankai, Jun 14, 2005.

1. briankai

briankai

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I received my little red HD3 today, and have been tooling around with it for a couple of hours now... all I can say is that I think I've finally found a player that I'm almost completely happy with, and its pros far outweigh its cons.

Sound Quality:

Fantastic, as with the HD5 that it has replaced. Now, I'm no expert... but I swear to god that the HD3 sounds better in terms of bass and midrange. Comparing the two using the fairly decent Sony 81LP earphones, there is definitely a difference between the two units... and it's in favor of the HD3.

I didn't pick up an any additional hiss or background noise, which was something I was very fearful of. Thankfully, all was well... although I don't think that the 81LP's qualify as overly sensitive phones.

Features:

Same with the HD5... no frills, just simple navigation and options with which to customize the player. No playlist feature, which I don't care about but could be a deal breaker for some. The "Groups" feature seems fairly worthless, but I haven't really played with it much. One has to watch what's going on during file transfer, or the "Groups" feature can sometimes duplicate files and eat up valuable disk space.

Performance:

A bit slower starting up than the HD5, but still faster than the iPod. I did notice that the HD3 is faster when scrolling through long lists, and I haven't seen the "Access" screen pop up nearly as much.

Build Quality and Asthetics: