1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nucleus Micro Owners... What amp do you use ?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by grantj, Dec 15, 2002.

  1. grantj

    grantj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm currently using a Sherwood R945RDS Receiver :eek:
    It's a 4 yr (at least) old AV amp, and the balls sound mighty fine, even from my humble amplification system...

    Looking to upgrade.. possibly a Yamaha 630/730.
    Considered the 1200, but I believe it's a dodo now, perhaps an end of line discount may come along.
     
  2. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a Denon 3802 with mine ;)
     
  3. ditton15

    ditton15
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Though I'm 3 balls short of a 5.1, but I use a Denon 1602 (70w per channel).

    ditton15

    ps As implied, I still use my celestion mains.

    pps This thread may lead to an answer to an earlier question on oomph & wow. :p
     
  4. Phatboy

    Phatboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just bought 3 balls & amp form Eric.

    My "old" Yammy amp doesn't have small and large settings. I know I can connect FR &FL via sub but how do i safely connect my centre micro up?

    I'm waiting for the Denon 3803 to come out in 2003 but would like to use all my speakers now without the risk of sending low freq signals that may damage my micros.

    Any suggestion?
     
  5. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    mine are currently connected to Tag stuff but I have used several lesser kit to good effect. They are efficient (high sensitivity) plus they are EASY to drive (and easy, flat 8 ohm load). This makes them a dream to drive, even 10 w valve stuff works here :) Very friendly to all amps.
     
  6. Phatboy

    Phatboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +0
    Beekeeper

    do you mean I can connect them up just like my floor standers? the manual seems to say this will damage them as they will get a full range of signal.
     
  7. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    no I don't think that was an answer to your question. think you should wait for your new amp if you don't have the facility to select speaker sizes on your amp. Low freqs will damage your Gallos. Best bet is to hook up the stereo pair through the sub and leave the centre until you get your new amp.
    do you have the option to select CENTRE NO or YES on your amp? Selecting no would send all the centre info through the stereo pair.

    In answer to the original question I use a Marantz 5300 and a very nice pairing they are too IMO.
     
  8. Phatboy

    Phatboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks James

    This is what I thought! I can use phantom setting for my centre channel so fronts get the centre channel. I was hoping that if I connect my sub to the sub out on the amp this might default all low freq signals to the sub and not my speakers!
     
  9. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    personally I wouldn't risk it unless I was 100% certain the amp rerouted all the lows with a sub in place. I'd go for the stereo pair through the sub with phantom centre until you get your new amp.
     
  10. grantj

    grantj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    the Sherwood im using only allows a size setting on the centre speaker.
    there's no option to adjust the FL/FR.
    I am using a sub however.

    sounds bloody great though.

    :confused:
     
  11. perrdl

    perrdl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just bought a Denon 1803, which seems to do the job very well.

    It also has a variable crossover which includes 120hz, which is great for the Gallo Micro's.
     

Share This Page

Loading...