NTSC Progressive Scan has gone green.

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Jase, May 13, 2003.

  1. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +888
    Currently running a Toshiba SD900E and using it's NTSC Progressive output via component. Was watching a dvd the other night and noticed that the blacks had a slight green tint to them, so I whipped out my trusty AVIA disc to check the colour/hue settings etc. Basically I couldn't get them spot on. Tried again last night, switched the player on and was greeted with an even greener picture.

    Now here's the weird part. This is ONLY on the Progressive Scan output, Interlaced via Component is spot on as is S-Video via the scart and S-Video socket. I can switch back & forth between Progressive and Interlaced at the touch of a button and each time the Progressive Output has this green tint. In fact it looks bloody awful. Doublechecked the TV's service menu settings for both Interlaced & Progressive modes and they haven't changed so it's not the TV.

    Any ideas as to what this is? Knackered de-interlacer chip or some part of it??

    Thanks for any input. :)
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +888
    ^^Bump!^^
     
  3. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,072
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +137
    Jase.

    When i had my Meridian 596 i used to hook it up to my Loewe Aconda via SCART. The Aconda could accept a YUV Component input on it's AV3 SCART socket, and the 596 could output the signal via SCART. If the AV3 input was set to RGB and not YUV, it had a big green tint!....

    Perhaps it's something to do with RGB/YUV Component?????? parts of the signal/processing going array somewhere???

    Sorry i cant help with anything concrete mate.


    Adz..
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +888
    Thanks Adz.:) The weird thing is, no settings have been changed etc. The TV will only pick up a PS signal via it's component inputs. It's a strange one mate!:confused:

    Good excuse for a new player though!;) :D
     
  5. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,072
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +137
    Yes, it is a strange one mate!...and i'd imagine thoroughly frustrating!
    Good players the Tosh 900's.
    What you thinking of replacing it with mate?


    Adz
     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +888
    Luckily the TV has it's own PS mode so all is not a total loss.:)
    Not really sure what to replace it with to be honest, going to sit back and wait for the Denon 3900 which should appear at some time. Toshiba should also have something soon as they have nothing between the SD520 (200 quid) and the SD9500 (1600 quid) apart from mine which is an older model. The Sony DVP999ES is another that has just appeared that looks interesting but I don't have much knowledge of Sony players. Arcam's DV89 or DV88 Plus should figure in the list as well!:D
     
  7. Spligsey

    Spligsey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,072
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +137
    Jase.
    Good list there mate. I hope Denon manage to get this universal player right first time, as their recent units seem to have had some problems, so a really strong showing with the 3900 will help to get the customers confidence back.

    Tosh 9500 looks a nice deck, but would make a large dent in the old wallet stakes, so i can see why you'd like to see something from Tosh between those margins you indicated.

    The Arcam's always put in a strong showing

    I suppose things will become clearer when the standard digital links are released.

    Adz
     
  8. Captain chaos

    Captain chaos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This green tint is a fault with all Tosh players when using prog scan.

    The Tosh 520 suffers the very same problem.
     
  9. patmyhead

    patmyhead
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    I o M
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi
    This happened to me ,well simular what it was that one of the component leads was not fully in my amp so my picture was tinted but via s video was ok ,i just made sound the conection & all was well
    Hope this is all that you have to do
    P@
     
  10. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +888
    Wouldn't say it's all Tosh players as mine has been perfect for 3 months, our SD520 is ok as well. Unless it's a fault that develops over a period of time.
     
  11. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +888
    Checked all the cables and they are all ok.:)
     
  12. fatbob

    fatbob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,
    another possibility is that your tv requires different greyscale settings for its' 480p input than it does for its' 480i component or s-video inputs, as this problem will often show itself as a tint (usually green, blue or red, depending on whether the colour temperature is above or below 6500k) in the dark grey to black area of the picture. hope this helps.
     
  13. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +888
    The strange thing is, it's been fine until now, it literally turned green overnight and is now greener. No settings have been changed on the TV or dvd player. Weird one. :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...