NTSC -> PAL conversion

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by slingshot, Jan 22, 2003.

  1. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    Bought my sister some Region 1 DVD's for Xmas, however looks like her TV doesn't support NTSC, she get's a stable B&W image but no colour.

    Looked at Keene and they have a composite NTSC to PAL converter for 50 quid, but is there any cheaper option for her ?

    Cheers

    Slingshot
     
  2. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,070
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +669
    Are you sure it's not that the player is outputing an S-Video signal and the TV is expecting a composite signal?
     
  3. slingshot

    slingshot
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +32
    No it's definatley composite, and Region 2 plays fine.
     
  4. Underscore

    Underscore
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try www.maplin.co.uk, in Sound & Vision - Audio Video Cables & Accessories - Video Accessories, you will find an NTSC - PAL convertor for £29.99 in the sale. Only at that price for 3 more days so, if you want it, you'll need to get a move on!

    HTH,

    _
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,078
    Before you buy any external hardware, make sure the DVD player doesn't have an onboard PAL converter. This will be accessed via either a switch on the back panel (labelled eg. NTSC/PAL/Auto) or a similar entry in the player's setup menu. Set it to PAL (not Auto).
     
  6. wellsi

    wellsi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    Messages:
    494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +29
    I had a similar problem, and found that my player was converting the NTSC to PAL 6O. When I set the player to "output NTSC as NTSC", the TV converted it fine.
     
  7. Stuart Brooks

    Stuart Brooks
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    119
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also check if the player outputs RGB - switching to this will bypass any concerns with NTSC colour support and the need for a converter - and it'll provide a better pic.

    Stuart
     

Share This Page

Loading...