NTSC LCD to PAL for Sky

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by stuartjprice, Mar 15, 2005.

Tags:
  1. stuartjprice

    stuartjprice
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yikes!

    Just discovered my Sharp LCD with TV tuner is NTSC!
    Is there a way of converting it to PAL so I can receive Sky?
    Cheers!
     
  2. jimg

    jimg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    What model do you have and does it have scart input? the model number should LC-26GA4E or similar. If it ends in U then it is a USA model.
     
  3. stuartjprice

    stuartjprice
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it doesn't have scart and it's model no. LL-M15X1U!
     
  4. jimg

    jimg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Well you have a USA import, so I am afraid you are stuck! :rolleyes: :eek:
     
  5. Alan111S

    Alan111S
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    If I were you, I'd get a wireless Video Sender. They work using SCART, which you don't have. But you could easily get a cable with SCART at one end and Composite Video (Yellow RCA) plus Stereo RCA plugs at the other. Plug the SCART into the Video Sender and the three RCA cables into the TV. The Composite signal will be crap, compared to RGB SCART but miles better than the RF signal you were originally going to use. Another bonus is you'll get Stereo sound as well!

    Only downside is that your Sharp won't pickup normal Analogue channels.
     
  6. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Are you sure the set will not accept 50Hz PAL throught any of its inputs, ie s-video? It doesn't matter whether the tuner is NTSC or not if you want to use a STB. Another solution, albeit more costly but much better quality is a scaler that handles frame rate conversion or standards converter.
     
  7. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,415
    Seems a bit of an excessive way to connect a $ky box to a nearby TV.
     

Share This Page

Loading...