NTSC DVD Recorder??????????

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Jazzypap, Aug 30, 2005.

1. Jazzypap

Jazzypap

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi :hiya:

I live in the UK and have a NTSC mini DV recorder and I'm looking to record the NTSC videos I've recorded of my little boy's birthday party onto a DVD disc via a DVD recorder.

If I connect the mini DV camera to the DVD recorder via i-link and record the videos directly onto a DVD disc, will these play on multi-region DVD player?

As I understand it and I could be very much mistaken, just because my multi-region DVD player will play Region 1 DVD's, this doesn't necessarily mean that the multi region DVD player will play an NTSC DVD disc????

Forgive my being a complete novice - all I want to achieve is to record my NTSC videos onto a DVD disc!

Thanks for looking and I hope someone can help!

Paul

2. shortround

shortround

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +43
    it should say in the dvd recorder's manual if it will record ntsc sources or not. if it can, then i would presume it can record ntsc through all its inputs including the i-link.

as for playback on a normal dvd player, it doesn't matter about region coding as this does not apply to consumer dvd recorders when making home recordings (all recorded discs will be region 0/region free). the only important thing is whether the dvd player will playback ntsc sources, and i've yet to see a UK model dvd player that can't do this. it will either convert the ntsc disc to output pal or it will simply output the ntsc signal natively (in which case your tv will need to be ntsc compatible, 99% of modern tvs are).

3. AthensDion

AthensDion
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    What drand model is your DVD recorder?

4. Jazzypap

Jazzypap

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi