NTSC DVD playback problem?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by pablo99, Mar 12, 2006.

  1. pablo99

    pablo99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +16
    Maybe a niche problem here but anyone else tried playing an NTSC DVD on their XBOX360?

    I tried it last night and found that the picture froze and stuttered all the time. Like every second! Audio is perfect.

    It'll play PAL DVDs okay. The NTSC disc is a region free music concert. Only tried it on the 360 cos to play it on my DVD recorder I have to change the TV output to NTSC from PAL in the settings. Just hoped the 360 would have saved the hassle.

    Cheers

    Pablo
     
  2. Fightclub

    Fightclub
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hello mate! Its does the same thing with region 0 NTSC discs on mine! Its probably because the dvd player side is not NTSC progressive scan?
     
  3. pablo99

    pablo99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +16
    Cheers Fightclub :thumbsup:

    Think its a flaw that might get fixed?

    I thought it wouldn't work at all initially. Then when it played all the warning speil at the start and even the DVD menu was fine I thought I was on a winner.

    How is yours connected to the telly? I use RGB scart. The component sockets are busy with the DVD recorder.

    Just wondered if that might make a difference?
     
  4. Mad Jack

    Mad Jack
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +40
    My NTSC Maradona DVD does the same thing on my 360 connected to an LCD TV via component lead. It also did the same thing when I tried it on my Brothers 360 connected to a CRT via RGB SCART.
     
  5. DragonOfSilver

    DragonOfSilver
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,085
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +73
    I think its just a case of crap video player not properly compensating for different framerate to output, the video player used in most games seems to be as bad at playing back 30fps video at 25fps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...