ntl to pc lcd help

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by systemsdead, Apr 17, 2005.

  1. systemsdead

    systemsdead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,936
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    grimsby,canada
    Ratings:
    +1,646
    morning im thinking of connecting my ntl pace box to my pc lcd,any suggestions on what i need regarding tv cards and cables,i think i will need some sort of splitter from my to my pc,would this be possible as anybody done this thanks,only want to spend around £50 or is that to little.
     
  2. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    I have a Telewest Pace box in my setup.

    For TV capture I use the RGB scart output from the Pace box via a Shinybow RGB to S-Video convertor (£25-ish from Maplins) using an s-video cable into a Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-150 capture card (about £50).

    If you're planning to use XP Media Centre Edition you will need a compatible TV card like the one above. If you use an alternative such MediaPortal that would give you the option of using cheaper TV cards.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. xuk888

    xuk888
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi onefivenine,

    Any noticable improvement of S-video over Composite? My current setup is Telewest Scart composite to a Hauppauge card and I do not plan to spend £170 for a sweetspot card to feed RGB directly.

    Sorry systemsdead for hijack your topic a bit.
     
  4. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +371
    S video and composite are like night and day mate, make sure the cables are top notch, s video and RGB are reasonably hard to tell apart.
    I run NTL Pace through RGB - S Video into my PC and my screen, and the picture isn't too bad, bear in mind that the NTL signal is the limiting factor :(
    I don't use the PC feed and DScaler very often as my processor (XP2400+) isn't quite up to it :suicide:
     
  5. systemsdead

    systemsdead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,936
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    grimsby,canada
    Ratings:
    +1,646
    jesus guys keep it simple new to this all i want is to watch ntl on my pc which as windows xp installed.
     
  6. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    xuk888 - I didn't even try composite to be honest... I went straight for the RGB to S-Video route.

    I reckon it's the best 'quality versus cost' balance you can get with a Pace box,

    I thought about the Sweetspot but considering the source quality of Telewest/NTL it's not worth it in my view. I'm more than happy with my setup now!
     
  7. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    In that case any cheap TV card will do!

    You'll need a scart to composite and audio cable.

    Splash out a bit more and go for an RGB to S-Video convertor, then plug the s-video cable into the TV card and you'll see a marked improvement.

    The Maplins RGB to S-Video convertor comes with a cable for s-video and audio left and right... which with an adaper will plug into one of the line inputs on your sound card or motherboard.

    You should be able to get a basic setup for £50... or even less if you look in the forum classifieds and e-bay.
     
  8. SeanT

    SeanT
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +371
    Do the S-video route, it's worth the extra few quid and probably on a par with the sweetspot (prepares to be flamed)
     
  9. systemsdead

    systemsdead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    7,936
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    grimsby,canada
    Ratings:
    +1,646
  10. darkseed

    darkseed
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there guys im a complete newbie and was wondering if this would work!

    trying to connect my ntl / tv to my pc so that i can:

    1)watch dvd movies from my pc onto the tv

    2)watch ntl and record ntl stuff on my pc via my dvd /cd writer.

    I have a JVC AV-28X4 tv and ntl samsung box and have a geforce fx 5200 with tv out, does anyone know of the best method to achieve this without spending much?

    I thought it was just a process of buying a s video cable and running it from my graphics card to the TV and then a separate RCA cable for the audio from the card intothe TV, is this correct guys?

    I am confusing myself!!

    P.s PLEASE KEEP IT SIMPLE!
     
  11. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    You seem to have grasped it Darkseed

    1) S-video & audio left & right cable from PC into TV... check your graphics card has s-video out. Line out from sound card or on-board sound line out - 3.5mm jack to phono left and rght cable.

    2) a TV capture card - for decent quality use s-video
    so you'll need a RGB to S-video convertor like this one
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=30782&TabID=1&source=15&WorldID=&doy=20m4
    Use a scart cable from NTL box into RGB to -svideo convertor...
    Then from convertor to PC TV capture card you need an s-video and audio left & right cable - with an adaptor to convert the audio phonos to a 3.5mm jack - into the tv card.

    hope this helps.
     
  12. Judah

    Judah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +15
    I have my telewest box connected to my PC via an s-video cable connected to a SCART to Phono + SVHS Adapter plugged in the back of the telewest box. Would using the RGB to S-Video and Convertor instead of the adaptor improve the picture quality much?
     
  13. onefivenine

    onefivenine
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +647
    Yes it would because although you're using an S-video adapter, the Pace box doesn't ouput s-video - only RGB & composite sync out of the RGB (TV?) scart output. The s-video adaptor doesn't create an s-video signal it just passes composite through.
    Unfortunately the second scart output on the Pace only outputs composite and audio - as far as I know.

    That's why you need the RGB to S-video convertor. It makes a big difference - I highly recommend it.
     
  14. Judah

    Judah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +15
    Thanks, think I might buy one some time next week and try it out then :thumbsup:
     
  15. Judah

    Judah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +15
    I just bought the Rgb to S-video converter from maplins and tried it but all im getting is a black screen :mad: I connected a scart from the PACE box to the converter then an s-video cable from the converter to my PC's TV card. Anyone know what might be wrong? :lease:
     
  16. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    You probably have not enabled RGB on your STB
     
  17. Judah

    Judah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +15
    How do I do that? :confused:
     
  18. JonMace

    JonMace
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +207
    press the settings button on your NTL remote and take it from there
     
  19. Judah

    Judah
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +15
    I've got a Telewest Remote not NTL,but I found the settings page and changed it to RGB and its working now so thanks for that :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...