ntl hdtv

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by av addict, Jun 10, 2005.

  1. av addict

    av addict
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +161
    anyone know when ntl might be offering hdtv-i know they have been trying out adsl 2,but is there any more updates
    cheers
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    I wouldn't hold my breath:)

    The ADSL trail was more to do with extending the reach of the existing NTL service beyond that of the current network without the huge investment in laying new cable.

    Right now NTL have not announced any firm plans to offer HD and they have not even got a DVR type product in place unlike TW who as usual seem to be quite a few steps in front of NTL.
    Almost feel sorry for TW customers who could soon be graced with a service run by NTL suits if the so called "merger" happens.

    Long term HD on cable has got to happen after all in the US it is a given but then again they have had VOD for a while and cable customers in the UK are only just seeing that emerge.
    The big question over cable HD int he short term is about the content, would SKY sell on their HD movies/sports and entertainment channels since I don't think they would be forced to offer it to cable unlike the existing premium channels. That would leave a cable company offering PPV/VOD movies with additional content from any third party they can do a deal with.

    Hmmmm, waffled on a bit :)
     
  3. clever dicky

    clever dicky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    NTL arnt capable of providing NTV ('normal' TV) at any better resolution than VHS (if yer lucky).

    Most of its over compressed, noisey crap.
    Better off with a divx player
     
  4. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    True - still waiting for plain vanilla digital cable on NTL here in the wilds of - London! We are still on analogue!!
     
  5. beng

    beng
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The picture quality across the NTL network is abysmal in my opinion. Some of the channels *I'M LOOKING AT YOU ITV2* are unwatchable due to the dire compression rates.

    Pixally rubbish. Still you get what you pay for I suppose. :D
     
  6. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Don't think for a second Telewest are any better, I pressed channel up on the remote yesterday evening, I'm expecting the channel to change around lunchtime tomorrow.
     
  7. av addict

    av addict
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +161
    i've heard telewest might beat sky to show hdtv first-hopefully ntl and telewest merge-
    personally speaking i've had no problems with ntl pictures or broadband and i've been with them for about 3 years now-mind you my views might change
    once i get ntl on my new plasma shortly
     
  8. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    It is not so much the compression but the boxes these companies use. If you use a different box the quality is far far better......
     
  9. beng

    beng
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :rotfl:

    It's funny because it's true.

    As for the variances in hardware - why have them? Every large organisation I've ever been in seems to have software problems due to the multitude of hardware options. And then when they have everything on the right build they have them on a range of service packs. And then when they have them on the right service pack they are running the wrong software version. I mean how hard is it to have one standard that everything works well on?
     
  10. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    Not only are we talking about box performance from a responce point of view but picture quality really is very very good on these alternative boxes. Not only that but you can record the mpeg stream to your PC for viewing later via the ethernet on the boxes, also emails can be sent and recieved from the box, mp3's, mpeg's & divx can be played from your PC to the TV. Plus more.
     
  11. clever dicky

    clever dicky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Details please, box make, model no's, area.

    Thanks
     
  12. pinkerton

    pinkerton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ealing (London)
    Ratings:
    +3
    Are we talking about dbox? just do a google search for dbox2.
     
  13. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    5 stars for pinkerton. Also boxes support rgb svideo and component. As well as optical out although obviously only 2 channel as that's all the broadcast's are
     
  14. clever dicky

    clever dicky
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea I know what a dbox is but I wasnt aware NTL now supplies them for their networks.
     
  15. pinkerton

    pinkerton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ealing (London)
    Ratings:
    +3
    They dont, but I know a man who does :D ;)
     
  16. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,622
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +512
    Just for the record the digital NTL feed in our part of Norwich is excellent. I'm using one of the newer Samsung boxes. Shame they only have 2 Scart outputs. No problems with pixilation, picture break-up or 'noise' problems. Sorry to hear that some areas are still on analogue signals. We've had it for years. Just changed from my original Pace box to Samsung to cover faster Internet speed. Would be nice if NTL can get its head together over BBCi alternatives. I get more choice on my Freeview box. Good reliable Broadband service via Ethernet socket. No, I don't work for NTL !
     
  17. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    Someone phone up NTL asking if they wil do HD anytime soon, if they say no, or they cant tell you, tell them I will join Sky+ then, as they will do HD next year LOL!
     
  18. marker

    marker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok
    I'll take back everything that I wrote here........


    End of year...


    You might be pleasantly surprised.... :thumbsup:
     
  19. marker

    marker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump
     
  20. YorkieAnd

    YorkieAnd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would you care to elaborate Marker? Please!!
     
  21. marker

    marker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't do m8, sorry....
     

Share This Page

Loading...