NTL cable tv to InFocus X1

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by 45six, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. 45six

    45six
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Gene

    Gene
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    That should do it.
     
  3. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +2,342
    If you cable STB has an S-Video option that will work.
    My TeleWest Pace box can only do RGB or composite and won't feed S-Video.
     
  4. 45six

    45six
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    It has two scart sockets on the back, one for video one for tv.

    I'm presuming you mean if it has an option in the settings for svideo output ?
    The signal the box outputs ?

    So composite / RGB output via the scart requires more than just that cable ?
     
  5. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,823
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +2,342
    SCART sockets are just connectors - they can carry composite, S-Video or RGB signals. The hardware inside my TeleWest Pace box won't output an S-Video signal at all - there are settings in the TeleWest menus to chose between 'video' or 'RGB' but not S-video.
    If I connect a SCART>S-video lead to the S-video input on my TV I get a black and white picture (IIRC).
    If there is an S-Video option in the NTL menus then that lead will work.
    Alternatively you could use the Video SCART socket with a SCART to composite lead to the composite input on your projector, that would work but not look that great.
    If you want s-video then you would need a convertor like this http://www.keene.co.uk/cgi-bin/bigcodesearch.pl?RGB2S or this http://www.js-technology.com/rgb-svideo/index.htm
     
  6. 45six

    45six
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers. I'll stick (as advised) to watching NTL tv on the television.
     

Share This Page

Loading...