NTL cable tv to InFocus X1

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by 45six, Sep 9, 2004.

  1. 45six

    45six
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Gene

    Gene
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    That should do it.
     
  3. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +3,659
    If you cable STB has an S-Video option that will work.
    My TeleWest Pace box can only do RGB or composite and won't feed S-Video.
     
  4. 45six

    45six
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    It has two scart sockets on the back, one for video one for tv.

    I'm presuming you mean if it has an option in the settings for svideo output ?
    The signal the box outputs ?

    So composite / RGB output via the scart requires more than just that cable ?
     
  5. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    7,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +3,659
    SCART sockets are just connectors - they can carry composite, S-Video or RGB signals. The hardware inside my TeleWest Pace box won't output an S-Video signal at all - there are settings in the TeleWest menus to chose between 'video' or 'RGB' but not S-video.
    If I connect a SCART>S-video lead to the S-video input on my TV I get a black and white picture (IIRC).
    If there is an S-Video option in the NTL menus then that lead will work.
    Alternatively you could use the Video SCART socket with a SCART to composite lead to the composite input on your projector, that would work but not look that great.
    If you want s-video then you would need a convertor like this http://www.keene.co.uk/cgi-bin/bigcodesearch.pl?RGB2S or this http://www.js-technology.com/rgb-svideo/index.htm
     
  6. 45six

    45six
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers. I'll stick (as advised) to watching NTL tv on the television.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice