1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NTL Broadband+console questions

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by colesy, Mar 12, 2003.

  1. colesy

    colesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    NTl have a subscription for 600k BB and the necessary bits to allow PC connection at the same time. All sounds very nice, but for a newbie I have some questions.

    1) Is there a major difference for Xbox live between 600K and 1MBS?

    2)Is it worth them supplying the bits (router I think it's called) for 29.99 per month as opposed to 24.99 per month just for the 600k BB?

    3)Should I just go for 600K and buy a router through my local pc dealer?

    Cheers in advance
     
  2. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    For hosting games the 1M will make it better, but for just playing it will make very little difference.

    Neil.
     
  3. colesy

    colesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Cheers for the reply.
    I maynot be hosting games...I have no friends :(
     
  4. James45

    James45
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,844
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    59
    Location:
    Taking Care of Business
    Ratings:
    +0
    at least he's honest!:D we'll be your friends!:rotfl: :rolleyes:

    I'm in the same position I would like BB to hook up the PC and gamcube, NTL are currently supplying the modem for free I understand. NTL connection is already in place but not in use. Would it be a case of using the one modem to for both PC and console (gamecube requires BB modem with ethernet port)? and seeing as its cable i take it it would make no difference to the phone line?

    sorry for the dumb questions I'm still a dial up user!:(
     
  5. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    On your 2nd point. £5/month extra for thier router = £5*12=£60/year. You can you buy a router for less than this and it will last longer than a year

    it swings and roundabouts. you're basically renting the router which includes maintenance on the box if it should fail. A one off purchase of a router (say the netgear RP614) is £50 and I would it expect to last more than a year without fault
     
  6. mr_fantazmo

    mr_fantazmo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The extra 5 Quid a month is for ntl customer service as well, if you have a problem then they will try and help you out! Whereas if you have another non ntl router they won't!!

    Makes no odd's as you can't get through anyway!! :D
     
  7. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    isn't that an oxymoron :devil:
     
  8. colesy

    colesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I thought NTL customer service was bad......put me in a difficult position, as my BT line is not capable of BB...yet.

    I will be using my Xbox downstairs, but my PC is upstairs.....
    so I think I will have to get a VERY long ethernet cable and run it loose up the stairs.

    !mbs sound good to me, so I can host. I am useless on games so I expect my bum to be kicked.

    I will probably purchase the netgear as per graham's recommendation, that is if it is user friendly and works with NTL.

    What do you think???
     
  9. graham.myers

    graham.myers
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Messages:
    6,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +932
    I wouldn't say I recommended it:nono:, I just did a quick search to give a reference price point. I have seen threads on here discussing which router is best - do a search. There is LinkSys who NTL recommend, NetGear as stated, D-Link

    I too have my PC upstairs (and at the back of the house). My xbox will be in my cinema room downstairs and at the front.

    I hope they will lay the cable where I want ie upstairs near my PC. I'm considering getting a Wi-Fi connection down to the xbox (and maybe my PS2 when they get thier act together). Going wifi will give me the advantage of surfing on my laptop in the living room/kitchen too even though it has a built in ethernet port for upstairs. I already have a 4-port hub upstairs so its all cabled up - I just need to switch the hub for a router
     
  10. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,108
    Netgear is great, I am a big fan of theirs :)
     
  11. colesy

    colesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Sorry Graham about hat statement!!

    I have been doing a bit of research for a few weeks now, but I seem to be geting more and more confused
    :eek:

    I thought life was supposed to get easier the older you got..lol
    Maybe I'll ask my 13 year old nephew tosort it out for me :rotfl:
     
  12. Malone

    Malone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ilkeston,Derby
    Ratings:
    +71
    Bit of a newbie in regard to BB. The modem is arriving Friday connections shouldn't be a prob but I was told any extensions from the signal coming in will also carry the BB signal, hence there are two "splitter's" (for upstairs and in the living room)so as two divide the signal into A: the telephone connection and B: the BB signal, so I assume my PC can connect upstairs into the supplied external modem and my PS2 (when it goes online) can connect in my living room?

    Is this correct ???:confused: :confused:

    Matt
     
  13. colesy

    colesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Malone,
    I think you are spot on. I don't think you will be able to use the console and the PC at the same though.

    If I am wrong, I'm sure these guys will tell me.

    cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...